Forrest Little’s Ray Gregan was top dog in the Hilary at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links on Sunday. Picture by Jenny Matthews/www.golffile.ieForrest Little’s Ray Gregan defied a stiff breeze to card a one over 72 for victory in the RaboDirect Hilary Golf Society outing at Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links on Sunday.

Gregan, who picked up two birdies coming hime,  edged out Royal Dublin veteran John Hutchinson on the back nine a despite a double bogey at the tough 16th

Hutchinson, a former Hilary Gold Medal winner, carded birdies at the par 5 fifth and the short 11th but a bogey at his penultimate hole cost the Royal Dublin man the winning score

Hermitage’s Alan Dowling had the best gross score on the day by a good margin when he birdied two of his last four holes for a two over 73.

The next event is in Seapoint Golf Club on Sunday March 3rd- full details on

Portmarnock Links Sunday Feb 17th

Winner: R Gregan (6) ( Forrest Little) 72 ( B9)

2nd J Hutchinson (5) (Royal Dublin) 72

Gross: A  Dowling (Hermitage)   73

3rd: T Lilly (6) (Slade Valley)  74

72  R Gregan (6) (F Little), J Hutchinson (5) (Royal Dub),

73  A Dowling (scr) (Hermitage)

74  T Lilly (6) (Slade Valley)

75  D Foley (5) (Royal Dub), E o’Hehir (4) (Naas)

76  S Kerrigan (4) (St  Annes), F OConnell (6) (F Little), P Higgins (6) (Coorstown), C Walshe (5) (Dundalk)

77 M Kelly (5) (F Little), K Knightly (6) (R Dublin),

78  R Richardson (1) (The Island) , J Hutton (5)(Coorstown), S Clarke(3)(R Dublin), M ORourke (5) (St Annes), T Higgins (6) (Sutton), S Williams (5) (Castle)

79 B Morris (6) (P Links), B flood (3)(P Links), J Healy(5)(Roganstown), B Lupo(1)(Sutton)

80 F Kennedy(3)(The Island), D Cribin (5)(Curragh), P Byrne(5)(St Annes), C ODonovan(6)(R Dublin), B McSweeney(Scr)(Woodbrook), J McCarthy(2)(F Little),

81 D Curran (6)(St Annes), L Hutchinson (Scr)(R Dublin), J P Kelly(6)(Carton Hse),

82  K Montgomery (6) (The Island), G Fitzpatrick (4) (Naas), J Toal (6)(St Annes), J Mulready (Scr) (Castle)

83  V ORourke (6) (Carton Hse), B Murray (5) (The Island), P Behan (2)(St Annes)

84  J Murray (Scr) (Malahide)

85  T  Montgomery (2) (The Island)

87 C Broe (6) (Beech Park)

88 E Kelly (1) (Co Meath)

No Returns: L O’Rourke, M Chambers, R Callan, D OMalley, S Kelly, M Richards, J Williams, R Hutton, G O’Dwyer