Bill Thompson (President, Hilary Golf Society) and Kevin Knightly (CEO, Rabobank Ireland) at the launch of the 2013 season.Irish Amateur Open champion Gavin Moynihan will be making his debut when the RaboDirect sponsored Hilary Golf Society celebrates the opening outing of its 60th season at Laytown and Bettystown on Sunday.

The teenager from The Island, who will head to Alabamba on a golf scholarship later this year, will tee it up with Forrest Little’s Eoin Arthurs and Balbriggan’s Robbie Cannon, the former South of Ireland champion.

Gavin Moynihan

Founded in 1953 by the late JB Carr and others, the Hilary caters for professionals and amateurs with a handicap of six or lower.

Past members include current European Ryder Cup captain, Paul McGinley and three time major winner Padraig Harrington.

Hilary Golf Society, Laytown & Bettystown, Sunday 3 February

Tee times

9:30 D Foley (Royal Dublin) D Curran (St Annes) B Morris (Portmarnock Links)
9:39 G Cooke (St Annes) A Higgins (Royal Dublin) R Gregan (Forrest Little)
9:48 D Downie (Sutton) L Hutchinson (Royal Dublin) P Behan (St Annes)
9:57 T Higgins (Sutton) J Healy (Roganstown) J Keogh (Beech Park)
10:06 J McCarthy (Forrest Little) S Kerrigan (St Annes) P Higgins (Coorstown)
10:15 T Montgomery (The Island) D O’Malley (Royal Dublin) B Lupo (Sutton)
10:24 C Walshe (Dundalk) S Kelly (Sutton) J Hutton (Coorstown)
10:32 G Moynihan (The Island) E Arthurs (F Little) R Cannon (Balbriggan)
10:41 D Lernihan (Elm Park) A Dowling (Hermitage) R Hutton (The Island)
10:50 J Murray (Malahide) E Kelly (Co Meath) P Byrne (St Annes)
10:59 F Costello (Castletroy) J Williams (Castle) J Mulready (Castle)
11:08 D Heather (Sutton) R Richardson (The Island) E McCartan (Greenore)
11:17 S Williams (Castle) N Worth (The Island) L O’Rourke (Naas)
11:26 D Cribbin (Curragh) M O’Rourke (St Annes) J Toal (St Annes)
11:35 C O’Donovan (Royal Dublin) E O’Hehir (Naas) M Richards (Roganstown)
11:44 A Williams (Sutton) T Lilly (Slade Valley) G Fitzpatrick (Naas)
11:52 G O’Dwyer (Royal Dublin) M Kelly (F Little) J Hutchinson (Royal Dublin)
12:00 P O’Connor (Malahide) P Byrne (St Annes) B McSweeney (Woodbrook)
12:10 M Gorham (Dundalk) D Brabazon (Balbriggan).

2013 outings

  • Sun Feb 17 Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links
  • Sun March 3 Seapoint
  • Sun March 24 County Louth
  • Sun April 7 Royal Dublin
  • Fri April 12 Portmarnock G.C
  • Fri April 19 Sutton