Aaron Kearney won the 2011 Rosapenna Scratch CupIrish internationals Reeve Whitson and Dermot McElroy are the favourites to lift the 36-hole Rosapenna Senior Scratch Cup at the Rosapenna Golf Resort in Co Donegal this Saturday.

A quality field will play one round over the Sandy Hills Links in the morning before taking on the Old Tom Morris Links for the final round in the afternoon.

This event attracts Ireland’s top amateurs with Rory McIlroy winning the inaugural event in 2005 and finishing runner up in 2007.

Past winners include Brendan McCarroll, Simon Ward, Enda Kennedy, Connor Doran (twice) and the defending champion Aaron Kearney of Castlerock.

Galway’s Eddie McCormack, who reached the semi finals of the North of Ireland earlier this summer, is also making the journey up to Rosapenna as well as former West of Ireland winner Rory Leonard of Banbridge, 2011 North of Ireland winner Patrick McCrudden of Portrush and Ulster Interprovincial player Matt McAlpin.

The event is supported by McGinley Motors, Letterkenny.