County Sligo’s Fred Daly team celebrates at Loughrea. Picture by Hany MarzoukSean Flanagan was the matching winning hero as County Sligo clinched the Fred Daly Trophy for the second time in five years with a 5-2 win over Faithlegg.

Flanagan’s dramatic 22nd hole win over Robin Dawson definitively shifted momentum to the Connacht side in a dramatic All Ireland final at Loughrea Golf Club.

Earlier, Co Sligo had scored wins through David Brady, Conor McDaniel and Junior Captain Alan Gaynor.

TJ Ford finished all square after 18 holes against Faithlegg’s James Kavanagh after the pair shared the last hole in birdies. Ronan Forkan was also called in all square in his match with Tom Kissane.

Adam Kennedy was Faithlegg’s victor, beating Cian Feeney 6/5 in match seven.

Connacht territory has proved to be a lucky omen for Co Sligo who also lifted the title at Westport in 2007

Earlier, Faithlegg edged Cairndhu in an exciting conclusion to the first semi-final, while Co Sligo were victorious over Castle in the second semi-final.

Fintan Buckley (President, Golfing Union of Ireland) presenting Neil Gaynor (Co Sligo Team Captain) with the Fred Daly pennant after their victory at Loughrea Golf Club. Also in the picture in front (from left) Pat Hynes (Captain, Loughrea Golf Club), Bryan Kilfeather (Captain, Co Sligo Golf Club) and Co Sligo team selector Aton Murphy. At back (from left) Sean Flanagan, Cian Doyle, Alan Gaynor, Cian Feeney, Ben Rooney, David Brady, TJ Ford, Luke Armstrong, Ronan Forkan, Conor McDaniel, Tom O’Hara and Conor Wynne. Picture by Hany Marzouk

Fred Daly Trophy, Loughrea Golf Club (Tuesday 28 August 2012)


Faithlegg 4 Cairndhu 3 (Faithlegg names first):

Robin Dawson bt Stephen Watts 1 hole;

David Whitty lost to Neil McKinstry 1 hole;

Dylan O’Connor lost to Ryan Long 4/3;

Greg Milne bt Marc McKinstry 4/3;

James Kavanagh lost to Mark Petticrew 4/3;

Tom Kissane bt Peter Clark 2 holes;

Adam Kennedy bt Matthew Devine 1 hole


Co Sligo 4.5 Castle 2.5 (Co Sligo names first):

Sean Flanagan bt Peter McKeever 4/3;

David Brady lost to Jack Walsh 3/1;

Conor McDaniel bt Ross McKeever 3/1;

Alan Gaynor lost to Ross Murray 2 holes;

TJ Ford bt Robert Browne 4/2;

Ronan Forkan bt Conor Harte 19th;

Cian Feeney halved with Barry Fitzpatrick



County Sligo 5 Faithlegg 2 (Co Sligo names first):

Sean Flanagan bt Robin Dawson at 22nd;

David Brady bt David Whitty 2/1;

Conor McDaniel bt Dylan O’Connor 5/4;

Alan Gaynor bt Greg Milne 3/2;

TJ Ford halved with James Kavanagh;

Ronan Forkan halved with Tom Kissane;

Cian Feeney lost to Adam Kennedy 6/5.


Fred Daly Tropy - All Ireland winners

1995 Knock

1996 Malahide

1997 Shandon Park

1998 Shandon Park

1999 Grange

2000 Banbridge

2001 Holywood

2002 Clandeboye

2003 The Island

2004 Royal Dublin

2005 Castle

2006 Belvoir Park

2007 County Sligo

2008 Rosslare

2009 Rosslare

2010 Athenry

2011 Carton House

2012 County Sligo