Geoff Lenehan clinched the winner point for Munster in the Interpros at Royal County Down. Picture by Pat CashmanPortmarnock’s Geoff Lenehan claimed the winning point as Munster beat Ulster 7-4 to clinch the Senior Interprovincial crown at Royal Co Down.

The home province were the favourites for the title after coasting to impressive wins over Leinster and Connacht.

But they had no answer to Munster, who took a 3-1 lead into the afternoon singles and never looked in real danger of losing despite Reeve Whitson’s 5 and 3 victory over Niall Gorey at the top of the singles order.

Gary Hurley beat Harry Diamond on the last and Kevin Phelan beat Chris Selfridge 2 and 1 before Geoff Lenehan saw off Dermot McElroy by two holes to give Munster into an unassailable 6-2 lead and the title.

Ulster victories for Michael Sinclair and Nicky Grant simply served to mask the overall result before Gary O’Flaherty beat Colm Campbell on the 18th green to give Phil Cooney’s charges a resounding win.

Irish Close and East of Ireland champion Selfridge tweeted later: “Congrats to Munster! Very well played today and all week long. The best team won!”

In the other match, Leinster pressed home an early 3-1 foursomes advantage, taking five points out of seven from the singles to beat Connacht 8-3.

Meanwhile, Leinster clinched the Boys Interprovincials on an exciting day of twists and turns.

After taking a 2-1 lead over Munster in the foursomes, they found themselves trailing in five of the seven afternoon singles in the early stages.

Ulster, their nearest rivals going into the final day’s play, looked to profit from this after taking a two-point lead into the singles, and in the early stages looked on course to take the title.

However, Evan Farrell, Niall Foley and Jack Walsh fought back to square their matches from behind, and although Gavin Moynihan could not get the better of James Sugrue - the latter winning on the final green - Paul McBride’s 6 and 5 victory over Daniel Brennan gave Leinster the platform they needed.

They ran out 6-4 winners in the end, with David Foy finishing level against Jack Leacy and Alec Myles overturning a three-hole deficit at the turn to win by 2 and 1.

It meant that Ulster, who beat Connacht by 6.5-3.5, were left in second place, with Munster in third.

Interprovincial Championship, Royal Co Down

FINAL STANDINGS: 1, Munster; 2, Ulster; 3, Leinster; 4, Connacht

Leinster 8 Connacht 3 (Leinster names first)


Simon Ward & Jack Hume lost to Joe Lyons & Michael Durcan 1 hole;

Paul Dunne & Brian Casey bt Eddie McCormack & Steffan O’Hara 1 hole;

Richard O’Donovan & Rory McNamara bt Gary McDermott & Barry Anderson 1 hole;

Eugene Smith & Andrew Hogan bt Stephen Healy & Sean Cannon 6/4



Simon Ward halved with Michael Durcan;

Paul Dunne bt Gary McDermott 4/3;

Richard O’Donovan bt Joe Lyons 2/1;

Jack Hume bt Eddie McCormack 1 hole;

Rory McNamara halved with Steffan O’Hara;

Eugene Smith bt Sean Cannon 5/4;

Brian Casey lost to Barry Anderson 4/3


Munster 7 Ulster 4 (Munster names first):


Kevin Phelan & Alan Thomas bt Reeve Whitson & Harry Diamond 3/2;

Ian O’Rourke & Gary Hurley bt Chris Selfridge & Matt McAlpin 3/2;

Gary O’Flaherty & Niall Gorey lost to Nicky Grant & Dermot McElroy 3/2;

Pat Murray & Geoff Lenehan bt Michael Sinclair & Colm Campbell 2/1



Niall Gorey lost to Reeve Whitson 5/3;

Gary Hurley bt Harry Diamond 1 hole;

Kevin Phelan bt Chris Selfridge 2/1;

Geoff Lenehan bt Dermot McElroy 2 holes;

Ian O’Rourke lost to Nicky Grant 3/1;

Gary O’Flaherty bt Colm Campbell 1 hole;

Pat Murray lost to Michael Sinclair 4/3


Boys Interprovincial Championship

FINAL STANDINGS: 1, Leinster; 2, Ulster; 3, Munster; 4, Connacht


Ulster 6.5 Connacht 3.5 (Ulster names first)


John Ross Galbraith & Tim Jordan bt Alex Gleeson & Sean Flanagan 3/2;

William Russell & Jordan Hood halved with Ryan O’Doherty & Jonathan Doherty;

Stephen Watts & Gareth Lappin bt Cathal O’Byrne & Ronan Mullarney 1 hole



William Russell lost to Alex Gleeson 1 hole;

John Ross Galbraith bt Sean Flanagan 3/2;

Jordan Hood bt Ronan Mullarney 3/2;

Gareth Lappin bt John Igoe 3/2;

Tim Jordan lost to Cathal O’Byrne 1 hole;

Matthew Kane bt Ryan O’Doherty 1 hole;

Stephen Watts lost to Jonathan Doherty 3/2


Leinster 6 Munster 4 (Leinster names first)


Gavin Moynihan & Alec Myles lost to Conor Coyne & Daniel Brennan 4/2;

David Foy & Evan Farrell bt James Sugrue & Paul McCarthy 6/5;

Paul McBride & Jack Walsh bt Jack Leacy & Robin Dawson 7/6



Gavin Moynihan lost to James Sugrue 1 hole;

Evan Farrell halved with Conor Coyne;

Niall Foley halved with Robin Dawson;

Jack Walsh halved with David Whitty;

David Foy halved with Jack Leacy;

Paul McBride bt Daniel Brennan 6/5;

Alec Myles bt Paul McCarthy 2/1