Royal County Down is the venue for the 2012 Interprovincial matchesConnacht will begin their defence of the Interprovincial title at Royal County Down today, writes the GUI.

Adrian Wynne’s team wants to match last year’s memorable victory at County Sligo, when they snatched the crown from Leinster on the last day by taking five and a half points from the seven singles.

Indeed, the closeness of the four provinces was indicated by the fact that two of the matches in the series were drawn while the rest were very close encounters.

The same is likely to be the case this year, with Aidan Doran’s Ulster determined to take the title back while they enjoy home advantage and local knowledge.

The Leinster and Munster teams were very both knocking on the door last year, and with two new team captains in Nigel Duke and Phil Cooney respectively.

Munster will play Connacht on Day One, while Leinster meet Munster.

Meanwhile, in the Boys Interprovincals, Jim Long’s Munster will be defending their title with a mixture of youth and experience.

They will begin their defence against Cathal McConn’s Connacht, while Kevin Raftery’s Leinster – led on the course by Irish Amateur Open champion Gavin Moynihan – will face Alasdair Gibson’s Ulster on Day One.



Connacht v Munster (Connacht names first)

Foursomes (0800 start)

Sean Cannon & Stephen Healy v Kevin Phelan & Alan Thomas;

Eddie McCormack & Barry Anderson v Gary Hurley & Geoff Lenehan;

Gary McDermott & Steffan O’Hara v Pat Murray & Ian O’Rourke;

Joe Lyons & Michael Durcan v Gary O’Flaherty & Niall Gorey


Singles (1300 start)

Eddie McCormack v Kevin Phelan;

Michael Durcan v Gary Hurley;

Gary McDermott v Geoff Lenehan;

Barry Anderson v Ian O’Rourke;

Stephen Healy v Pat Murray;

Steffan O’Hara v Gary O’Flaherty;

Joe Lyons v Niall Gorey


Leinster v Ulster (Leinster names first)

Foursomes (0836 start):

Richard O’Donovan & Paul Dunne v Reeve Whitson & Harry Diamond;

Rory McNamara & Brian Casey v Chris Selfridge & Matt McAlpin;

Andrew Hogan & Eugene Smith v Nicky Grant & Dermot McElroy;

Simon Ward & Jack Hume v Michael Sinclair & Colm Campbell


Singles (1352 start):

Richard O’Donovan v Chris Selfridge;

Paul Dunne v Reeve Whitson; Rory McNamara v Dermot McElroy;

Brian Casey v Harry Diamond; Andrew Hogan v Nicky Grant;

Eugene Smith v Colm Campbell; Simon Ward v Michael Sinclair



Munster v Connacht (Munster names first)

Foursomes (0800 start):

Robin Dawson & David Whitty v Sean Flanagan & Alex Gleeson;

James Sugrue & Paul McCarthy v Ryan O’Doherty & Cathal O’Byrne;

Conor Coyne & Daniel Brennan v John Igoe & Ronan Mullarney


Singles (1300 start):

Jack Leacy v Ronan Mullarney;

Robin Dawson v John Igoe;

David Whitty v Alex Gleeson;

James Sugrue v Jonathan Doherty;

Paul McCarthy v Sean Flanagan;

Daniel Brennan v Cathal O’Byrne;

Conor Coyne v Ryan O’Doherty


Leinster v Ulster (Leinster names first)

Foursomes (0827 start):

Gavin Moynihan & Niall Foley v John Ross Galbraith & Tim Jordan;

David Foy & Evan Farrell v Jordan Hood & Gareth Lappin;

Paul McBride & Jack Walsh v William Russell & Matthew Kane


Singles (1349 start):

Alec Myles v John Ross Galbraith;

Evan Farrell v Jordan Hood;

Gavin Moynihan v Stephen Watts;

David Foy v William Russell;

Jack Walsh v Gareth Lappin;

Niall Foley v Tim Jordan;

Paul McBride v Matthew Kane