Barton Shield for Warrenpoint

The fourth at Castlerock, where Warren Point beat Tramore by one hole to claim the Barton Shield.Warrenpoint clinched the Barton Shield after a dramatic tussle with Tramore at Castlerock to secure the first of three possible All-Ireland pennants at the Chartis Cups and Shields, writes the Golfing Union of Ireland.

The club, which also competes in the Senior Cup and Jimmy Bruen Shield on Friday, beat a resilient Tramore by a single hole - the Munster champions having cut what was at one stage a six-hole deficit to bring the match down the last.

In the Junior Cup final, Mitchelstown beat Lurgan by virtue of victories in the first three matches.

Warrenpoint face stiff opposition against perennial Senior Cup contenders Co Sligo in the first semi-final of that competition at 8.30am, with Munster champions Muskerry and Leinster champions Portmarnock off at 9.20am in the other semi-final.

In the Jimmy Bruen Shield, meanwhile, Warrenpoint tee off at 12noon against Leinster champions Forrest Little, while Connacht are represented by Claremorris and Munster by Faithlegg, who clash in the other semi-final at 12.50pm.

Chartis All-Ireland Cups and Shields National Finals, Castlerock Golf Club

Junior Cup Final

Mitchelstown beat Lurgan 4-1 (Mitchelstown names first)

John Cahill bt Laurence McGrady 1 hole; Sean Lane bt Philip Shaw 1 hole ; Adrian Gamble bt Michael McSherry 3/1; John Maguire halved with David Magee; Clem Leonard halved with Gareth Hanna


Barton Shield Final

Warrenpoint beat Tramore by 1 hole (Warrenpoint names first)

Paul Reavey & Stephen Coulter beat Chris Butler & Declan King 1 hole; Ryan Gribben & Colm Campbell Jnr halved with Alan Thomas & David Kiely


Pierce Purcell Semi-Finals

Corrstown beat Letterkenny 3-2 (Corrstown names first)

Garry Beagan & Andrew Holohan bt Patrick McMonagle & Brian O’Donnell 19th; Jarlath Beagan & Paul O’Kane lost to Tony McMonagle & Connor McGettigan 3/1; Martin Mooney & Brendan Doyle bt John Russell & Roy McCrory 3/1; Gerry Burns & Tom Brady lost to Keith Spence & Patsy O’Donnell 2/1; Aidan Shields & Martin McIvor bt Kieran Walsh & Nicolas Miller 2 holes

Woodstock beat Athenry 3-2 (Woodstock names first)

Tom Hehir & Martin Dormer bt David Donohue & Brendan Lynskey 2 holes; Shane Fitzgerald & Michael O’Brien bt Michael Shaughnessy & Luke Glynn 19th; Liam McInerney & Mike Kelly lost to Martin Naughton & Shane Donohue 6/4; Jason Considine & Brian Mulcahy bt Michael Crimmins & Jimmy Flaherty 4/2; Declan Coote & Jimmy Kelly bt Kevin McCarthy & Michael Noone 2/1


Friday 16 September 2011

Senior Cup Semi-Finals

Warrenpoint v Co Sligo (8.30am, Warrenpoint names first)

Paul Reavey v Michael Durcan; David Barron v Steffan O’Hara; Colm Campbell Jnr v Gary McDermott; Stephen Coulter v Barry Anderson; Ryan Gribben v David Dunne


Muskerry v Portmarnock

Niall Gorey v Geoff Lenehan; John Waldron v James Fox; David O’Donovan v John Greene; Ronan Twomey v Michael Brett; Dan Hallissey v Niall Goulding


Pierce Purcell Final

Corrstown v Woodstock (10.30am, Corrstown names first)

Garry Beagan & Andrew Holohan v Frank Doherty & Mike Kelly; Jarlath Beagan & Paul O’Kane v Jason Considine & Brian Mulcahy; Martin Mooney & Brendan Doyle v Tom Hehir & Martin Dormer; Gerry Burns & Tom Brady v Declan Coote & Jimmy Kelly; Martin McIvor & David O’Shaughnessy v Shane Fitzgerald & Michael O’Brien


Jimmy Bruen Semi-Finals

Forrest Little v Warrenpoint (12noon, Forrest Little names first)

Caolan Kennedy & Brian Duggan v David McGreevy & Raymond Jackson; Greg O’Riordan & Karl Kiernan v Gerry Durkin & Tim Cunningham; Andrew Timmons & Mark Lacey v John Hughes & Jack Gilsenan; Tom Bent & Mick Timmons v Hudson McGuffin & Jack Campbell; Noel Lyons & Jack Blake v Brendan McKiernan & Ros Carvill


Claremorris v Faithlegg (12.50pm, Claremorris names first)

Stephen Burke & Keith Harte v Colm Keating & Paul Grant; Niall Crosby & Eddie Killeen v David Keating & Dylan O’Connor; Des Griffith & Damien Burke v James Kavanagh & Dick Power; Ger Noone & Martin Higgin v Alan Roche & Noel O’Keeffe; Anthony Hennelly & Richard Horan v Colm Gaffney & Kevin Moriarty.