Connacht claimed the Interprovinal title for the first time for 28 years. Picture courtesy County Sligo GC.Connacht mounted an incredible singles comeback to clinch an unlikely tie with Leinster and snatch the Interprovincial Championship for the first time in 28 years at County Sligo.

The home province trailed 4-0 after the morning foursomes having gone into the final day needing to beat Leinster to be sure of the title, or to draw and hope Munster did not beat Ulster.

Ulster beat Munster 8-3 and Connacht then took advantage to win five-and-a-half points from the available seven singles and clinch the title in the tightest of circumstances.

Eddie McCormack, Michael Durcan, Steffan O’Hara, Kelan McDonagh and anchor Joe Lyons all won their games, with Barry Anderson’s half against Paul Dunne also counting towards that crucial total in offsetting the Leinster victory by Richard O’Donovan.

It was certainly a day to remember for NUI Maynooth graduate McDonagh, who holed a rescue from 267 yards out of the right rough on the par-five third for the first albatross of his career in a 2/1 win over Craig Martin.

Ulster, meanwhile, found a rich vein of form against Munster, and found themselves in a 3-1 lead after the morning foursomes session.

In the afternoon, victories for Aaron Kearney, Luke Lennox, Nicky Grant and Colm Campbell, in

addition to half-points from Harry Diamond, against Niall Gorey, and Connor Doran, against David O’Donovan, contributed to an 8-3 victory for Ulster.

Munster clinched the Boys Interprovincial title with a superb victory over Leinster in the final series of matches.

Munster led by 2-1 after the morning foursomes, and victories in the afternoon singles from Colm O’Sullivan, Gary Hurley, Jack Leacy and Eoin Harris paved the way for Munster’s success.

Robin Dawson halved with Gavin Moynihan in the final match, while Leinster’s wins came from Jack Hume and Keegan Cummings.

Ulster, meanwhile, came back against Connacht after losing two-and-a-half points from the first three singles to win the final four singles for a 6-4 success – Tim Jordan, John Ross Galbraith, Matthew Kane and Matt McClean the victors.


Final Standings: 1 Connacht; 2 Leinster; 2 Ulster; 4 Munster.


Connacht 5.5 Leinster 5.5 (Connacht names first)


Barry Anderson & Eddie McCormack lost to Eoin Arthurs & Richard O’Donovan 5/4;

Steffan O’Hara & Sean Cannon lost to Paul Dunne & Stephen Walsh 2/1;

Gary McDermott & Kelan McDonagh lost to John Greene & Craig Martin 1 hole;

Michael Durcan & Joe Lyons lost to Rory McNamara & Brian Casey 2/1


Eddie McCormack beat Eoin Arthurs 8/6;

Barry Anderson halved with Paul Dunne;

Gary McDermott lost to Richard O’Donovan 1 hole;

Michael Durcan beat Stephen Walsh 5/4;

Steffan O’Hara beat John Greene 2 holes;

Kelan McDonagh beat Craig Martin 2/1;

Joe Lyons beat Rory McNamara 2/1.


Ulster 8 Munster 3 (Ulster names first)


Reeve Whitson & Aaron Kearney halved with Niall Gorey & Gary O’Flaherty;

Harry Diamond & Connor Doran beat Pat Murray & Ian O’Rourke 1 hole;

Luke Lennox & Nicky Grant beat Sean Barry & David O’Donovan 2/1;

Colm Campbell & Wayne Telford halved with Kieran Hurley & Ed Stack


Harry Diamond halved with Niall Gorey;

Reeve Whitson lost to Ian O’Rourke 1 hole;

Aaron Kearney beat Sean Barry 1 hole;

Connor Doran halved with David O’Donvoan;

Luke Lennox beat Pat Murray 3/2;

Nicky Grant beat Ed Stack 1 hole;

Colm Campbell beat Gary O’Flaherty 5/3.


Boys Interprovincial Championships

Final Standings: 1 Munster; 2 Leinster; 3 Ulster; 4 Connacht.

Ulster 6 Connacht 4 (Ulster names first)


Ryan McKinstry & Matt McClean halved with Declan Reidy & Thomas Finnegan;

Tim Jordan & John Ross Galbraith lost to Enda Craddock & Dan O’Connor 2 holes;

Matthew Kane & William Russell beat Alex Gleeson & Sean Flanagan 2/1


Ryan McKinstry lost to Declan Reidy 3/2;

Jamie Richardson halved with Sean Flanagan;

William Russell lost to Enda Craddock 1 hole;

Tim Jordan beat Ronan Mullarney 1 hole;

John Ross Galbraith beat Thomas Finnegan 2 holes;

Matthew Kane beat Dan O’Connor 5/3;

Matt McClean beat Alex Gleeson 2/1


Leinster 3.5 Munster 6.5 (Leinster names first)


Jack Hume & Alan Lowry halved with Jack Leacy & Jack Ryan;

Gavin Moynihan & Keagan Cummings lost to Gary Hurley & Eoin Harris 2 holes;

Conor Glynn & Ross Young halved with Kieran Lynch & Robin Dawson


Liam Harnett lost to Colm O’Sullivan 5/4;

Conor Glynn lost to Gary Hurley 3/2;

Jack Hume beat Kieran Lynch 5/4;

Alan Lowry lost to Jack Leacy 1 hole;

Keagan Cummings beat Jack Ryan 2/1;

Ross Young lost to Eoin Harris 1 hole;

Gavin Moynihan halved with Robin Dawson.