Darren Clarke at last year’s Irish Open. (Picture Eoin Clarke/www.golffile.ie)As David Horsey claimed his second European Tour title with a play-off win over Rhys Davies and Jaco Van Zyl at the Hassan Trophy, Darren Clarke limped home in second last place after one of the worst weekends of his career.

The 42-year old Dungannon man was tied for third at halfway but followed up with rounds of 81 and 75 to finish 77th of the 78 finishers on seven over par.

Clarke’s woes began on Saturday when he mixed three birdies with four bogeys, a double bogey and two triples.

He then had two more doubles on his front nine in the final round before finishing off with a quadruple bogey eight at the last to turn a potential 71 into a 75.

Horsey, who had a hole-in-one at the second , was one ahead of Davies and two clear of South Africa’s Van Zyl playing the 72nd hol.

But whlle he made a double bogey, Davies missed a four-foot putt for the win and missed, allowing South African Van Zyl into a play-off.

All three parred the 18th the first time around but Horsey emerged victorious when he birdied it the second time around to add to his win in last year’s BMW Open.

Asked how he felt after taking the win, Horsey said: “Relieved more than anything. I made hard work of that coming down the last.

“I couldn’t believe Rhys missed that putt to win to be honest. If we had been playing match play I would have given him that putt because he is one of the best putters in the world.

“So I was surprised to be in the play-off and then to win is a great feeling that hasn’t quite sunk in yet but I am sure it will in the next day or two.”

Michael Hoey (69) and Peter Lawrie (70) were the best of the Irish in a share of 19th place on five under par with Damien McGrane (70) tied 60th and Paul McGinley (74) in joint 64th.

Trophee Hassan II, Golf du Palais Royal & Golf de l’Ocean, Agadir, Morocco

Gbr & Irl unless stated, par 72 & 71):

274 David Horsey 67 71 67 69 (won on the second play-off hole ), Rhys Davies 67 70 68 69, Jaco Van Zyl (Rsa) 68 73 65 68

276 George Coetzee (Rsa) 67 71 69 69

277 Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (Fra) 71 68 71 67, Oscar Floren (Swe) 67 74 68 68

278 Richie Ramsay 70 74 66 68, Mikko Ilonen (Fin) 74 64 69 71


282 Peter Lawrie 64 76 72 70, Michael Hoey 71 72 70 69

289 Damien McGrane 70 75 74 70

290 Paul McGinley 71 71 74 74

294 Darren Clarke 69 69 81 75