Derry powerhouse Mick McGeady blasted a five under 67 in the final round at the London Club to cruise into November’s second stage of the European Tour Qualifying School. But the Irish hero of the day was Muskerry’s Niall Turner, who also shot 67 to make it to PQ2 on the five-under par number at the Kent venue.

The Cork player - runner up to Shane Lowry in the Irish Close championship tied for 19th as exactly 24 players made it through at the Kent venue, headed by England’s Ricki Neil-Jones who closed with a course record 63 to win by four strokes from countryman Yashin Ali on 18-under.

McGeady, 32, was excellent all week, finishing third behind Jones in the section A qualifier on 13 under par after rounds of 67, 70, 71 and 67 to earn a handy cheque for €858.90.

Despite some solid play, there was no luck for Shane Franklin, who missed out by six shots after a level par 72 left him on one over in a share of 47th place.

At Ribagolfe in Portugal, 20 players progressed to stage two with Portugal’s Tiago Cruz and Spain’s Borja Etchart sharing first place on five under par 283.

Co Louth’s Simon Ward missed the 54-hole cut on Thursday.
The First Qualifying Stage has been split into five sections - A, B, C and D - and continues next week at Ebreichsdorf in Austria and Barbaroux in France.

Section A results

The London Club





Sep 7 – 10 Section B - Ebreichsdorf, Austria
Justin Brink
Eamonn Brady

Sep 7-10 Section B - Barbaroux, France
Michael Mulryan
Byron Campbell (Am)
Richard Kilpatrick
Glen Robinson
Cian McNamara

Sep 14-17 Section C - Dundonald Links
Noel Murray (Am) Dunmurry
Reeve Whitson (Am) Mourne
James Monaghan (AM) The Island
Fergal Rafferty
Chris Hughes
Gareth Shaw
Peter O’Keeffe
Mark Staunton
Michael Lavelle
David Mortimer
Barrie Trainor
Michael Collins
Danny Sugrue
Tim Rice
John Kelly
Chris Moriarty
David Higgins
Damian Mooney
Noel Fox

Sep 14 – 17 Section C - Fleesensee, Germany
Sean Patrick Ryan (Am) Royal Dublin
Neil O Briain (Am)
Stephen Grant
Mervyn Owens
Mark Campbell

Sep 21 – 24 Section D - Wychwood Park, Crewe
David Ruddy (Thurles AM)
Cian Daly (AM) Castletroy
John Price
David Kernoghan (AM) Galgorm Castle
Dara Lernihan (AM) Castle
Ross Oliver (Carrickfergus)
Cian Curley (Newlands)
David Rawluk (The Island)
Paul O’Hanlon (Curragh)
Brendan McCarroll

Sep 21 – 24 Section D - Bogogno, Fubine, Italy
Ruaidhri McGee (Roda)

Stage Two
Nov 26
29 Costa Ballena, Arcos Gardens, Hacienda del Alamo, El Valle Golf Resort

Final Stage
Dec 4
9 PGA Golf Catalunya Resort