Derry’s Mick McGeady is tied for fifth place midway through the First Stage of the European Tour Qualifying School Section A qualifier at The London Club in Kent. No fewer than 48 players will represent either Ireland or Northern Ireland at stage one, including Newlands’ Cian Curley, who has turned professional.

Ulsterman McGeady followed his opening 67 with a 70 to trail leaders Tim Sluiter of the Netherlands and Ricki Neil Jones of England by three strokes on seven-under entering today’s third round.

Shane Franklin and Niall Turner have work to do to progress to November’s Second Stage in Spain. Franklin shares 33rd place on one-under following a 70 with Muskerry man Turner a shot further back in tied 41st, also after a 70.

Northern Ireland’s Ian Davison (85-76) is tied 97th on 17-over with amateur Garrett Leahy propping up the field on 25-over after rounds of 85 and 84.

At Ribagolfe near Lisbon, Swede Jonas Pettersson leads by one from Portugal’s Tiago Cruz after adding a level par 72 to his opening 68.

Co Louth amateur Simon Ward is struggling - tied 68th on 13 over par after following an opening 81 with a 76.

A further six venues will host the First Qualifying Stage over the next three weeks in Austria, England, France, Germany, Italy and Scotland.

The successful players from each of the eight venues will progress to the Second Qualifying Stage at four venues in Spain at the end of November with the top 30 and ties earning cards following six rounds at the Final Stage at PGA Golf de Catalunya near Girona in December.


Aug 31 – Sep 3 Section A - Ribagolfe, Lisbon, Portugal
Simon Ward

Aug 31 – Sep 3 Section A - The London Club, Kent
Ian Davison
Garrett Leahy (Am)
Niall Turner
Michael McGeady
Shane Franklin

Sep 7 – 10 Section B - Ebreichsdorf, Austria
Justin Brink
Eamonn Brady

Sep 7-10 Section B - Barbaroux, France
Michael Mulryan
Byron Campbell (Am)
Richard Kilpatrick
Glen Robinson
Cian McNamara

Sep 14-17 Section C - Dundonald Links
Noel Murray (Am) Dunmurry
Reeve Whitson (Am) Mourne
James Monaghan (AM) The Island
Fergal Rafferty
Chris Hughes
Gareth Shaw
Peter O’Keeffe
Mark Staunton
Michael Lavelle
David Mortimer
Barrie Trainor
Michael Collins
Danny Sugrue
Tim Rice
John Kelly
Chris Moriarty
David Higgins
Damian Mooney
Noel Fox

Sep 14 – 17 Section C - Fleesensee, Germany
Sean Patrick Ryan (Am) Royal Dublin
Neil O Briain (Am)
Stephen Grant
Mervyn Owens
Mark Campbell

Sep 21 – 24 Section D - Wychwood Park, Crewe
David Ruddy (Thurles AM)
Cian Daly (AM) Castletroy
John Price
David Kernoghan (AM) Galgorm Castle
Dara Lernihan (AM) Castle
Ross Oliver (Carrickfergus)
Cian Curley (Newlands)
David Rawluk (The Island)
Paul O’Hanlon (Curragh)
Brendan McCarroll

Sep 21 – 24 Section D - Bogogno, Fubine, Italy
Ruaidhri McGee (Roda)

Stage Two
Nov 26
29 Costa Ballena, Arcos Gardens, Hacienda del Alamo, El Valle Golf Resort

Final Stage
Dec 4
9 PGA Golf Catalunya Resort