Greystones’ Paul DunneIrish trio Paul Cutler, Alan Dunbar and Paul Dunne have been included in a preliminary Great Britain & Ireland squad for this year’s St Andrews Trophy Match at Golf Club Castelconturbia, Italy, on 27 & 28 August.  
The nucleus of the nine-man team to face the Continent of Europe will be drawn from the 18-man squad though skipper Nigel Edwards pointed out that players can also be brought into the fold by showing good form.
It is anticipated that this 18-man squad will also form the basis for selection of the GB&I team to contest the Walker Cup Match at Royal Aberdeen Golf Club in Scotland, next year.
Four 2009 Walker Cup team members – Tommy Fleetwood, Matthew Haines, Stiggy Hodgson and Chris Paisley – add valuable experience to the squad, while talented young players, like 2009 Scottish Amateur Champion David Law, and Paul Dunne, who captained GB&I to victory over the Continent of Europe in the 2009 Jacques Leglise Trophy Match, add considerable depth.
This year, Nigel Edwards will be taking charge of his first GB&I team after being named as Captain for both the St Andrews Trophy Match against the Continent of Europe, and the 2011 Walker Cup Match against the USA.
“We’ve selected a very strong initial squad for this year’s match. Every one of the 18 young players is more than capable of excelling at the highest levels of the amateur game,” said Edwards, a playing member of victorious St Andrews Trophy teams in 2002, 2004 and 2006.
“It is now down to the players involved, and to those who narrowly missed out on selection, to use the summer to prove that they are deserving of one of the nine places available in the team.”
The group will assemble at Celtic Manor Resort for a two-day session on Tuesday 10 and Wednesday 11 May, giving players a chance to spend some time together, both on the golf course and socially, before the Match.
There is every chance for other players to force their way into the squad, and the selectors, who will be in attendance at events throughout the summer, fully expect several players not included in the initial 18 to be in contention for a place in the team.
Great Brian and Ireland squad
  • Jamie Abbott – Fynn Valley                             
  • James Byrne – Banchory                                
  • Paul Cutler – Portstewart
  • Alan Dunbar – Rathmore                                
  • Paul Dunne – Greystones 
  • Rhys Enoch – Truro                                        
  • Tommy Fleetwood – Formby Hall                      
  • Matthew Haines – Rochester & Cobham             
  • Stiggy Hodgson – Sunningdale  
  • Ross Kellett - Colville Park
  • David Law - Hazlehead
  • Tom Lewis - Welwyn Garden City
  • Chris Lloyd - Kendleshire
  • Matthew Nixon - Ashton under Lyne
  • Chris Paisley - Stocksfield
  • Eddie Pepperell - Drayton Park
  • Darren Renwick - Hill Barn
  • Michael Stewart - Troon Wellbeck
GB&I selectors:
  • Allan Brodie – Scotland                                   
  • Michael Burns – Ireland
  • Tony Disley, Chairman – Wales                       
  • Nigel Edwards, Captain – Wales                       
  • Mark Heames – Wales
  • Jonathan Plaxton – England