Dunbar claims St Andrews Links Trophy

Super sub Alan Dunbar bagged the St Andrews Links Trophy on Sunday night to continue Irish amateur golf's stunning glory run.

Alan Dunbar with the St Andrews Links TrophyThe Rathmore ace, who was originally a reserve for the event, hit closing day rounds of 71 and 70 over the Old Course for a two-under 285 and a one-shot victory over Kent's Matt Haines.

Dunbar's success comes just three weeks after Shane Lowry landed the European Tour's Irish Open and Niall Kearney won the Brabazon Trophy.

The 19-year-old beamed: "I don't know what it is, but Irish golf is on a roll.

“I’d never played at St Andrews before and just got the call last Monday to say I was in the field.

“It’s a big event at an unbelievable place and to win is huge for me, especially in a Walker Cup year.”

Dunbar became the first Irishman to win the St Andrews Links Trophy, following in the footsteps of tour stars Justin Rose and Richard Finch.


Links Trophy Winners 1989-2009

1989 R Claydon
1990 S Bouvier
1991 R Willison
1992 C Watson
1993 G Hay
1994 DB Howard
1995 G Rankin
1996 DB Howard
1997 Justin Rose
1998 Craig Watson
1999 David Patrick
2000 Matthew King
2001 Steven O'Hara
2002 Simon Mackenzie
2003 Richard Finch
2004 Jamie McLeary
2005 Lloyd Saltman
2006 Oliver Fisher
2007 Llewellyn Matthews
2008 Keir McNicoll
2009 Alan Dunbar