Ireland’s amateur golfers will begin their bid for a historic hat-trick of European Amateur Team Championship titles on Tuesday.

Skipper Kevin Flanagan has a star-studded six-man side ready to do battle at Conwy Golf Club in Wales.

ConwyAnd Walker Cup captain Colin Dalgleish will be watching closely as he prepares to pick the side to face the USA from September 12-13.

St Andrews Links winner Alan Dunbar and Brabazon Trophy champion Niall Kearney can seal their places on the plane to Merion with a top team performance.

They are joined by Baltray’s Simon Ward, Irish Close finalist Cian Curley, Castle’s Dara Lernihan and East of Ireland winner Paul Cutler.

No other nation has managed to capture three titles on the trot since England completed a hat trick of wins at Penina in Portugal in 1973.

Ireland's golden run began in 2007 at Western Gailes in Scotland when Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry, Jonathan Caldwell, Richard Kilpatrick, Gareth Shaw and Ward beat France.

Last year it was Caldwell, Lowry, Shaw, Cutler, Kearney and Paul O’Hanlon who beat England.