Six Irishmen take step towards Turnberry

Royal County Down's Jerry Scullion was one of six Irishman to come through Regional Qualifying for the Open at Royal Dublin.

Eight players earned their places in Local Final Qualifying on Monday 6 & Tuesday 7 July at Glasgow Golf Club — Gailes Links, Kilmarnock (Barassie) and Western Gailes. The starting field for each LFQ will be 96 players, with four qualification places from each venue into The Open at Turnberry.

Scullion shot a level par 72 to finish a shot ahead of Newlands amateur Andrew Hogan, Germany's Sean Einhaus, Castlecomer's Brendan McDermott with Denmark's Jesper Thuen, Killarney's Danny Sugrue, Portmarnock amateur James Fox and the Island's David Rawluk taking the last four places after rounds of 74.

Seamus McMonagle, Patrick Devine and Mark Murphy are reserves. 

Player, Club/CountryScoreStatus
Jerry Scullion, Royal County Down 72 Qualified
Andrew Hogan (A), Newlands 73 Qualified
Sean Einhaus (A), Germany 73 Qualified
Brendan McDermott, Castlecomer 73 Qualified
Jesper Thuen, Denmark 74 Qualified
Daniel Sugrue, Unattached 74 Qualified
James Fox (A), Portmarnock 74 Qualified
David Rawluk, The Island 74 Qualified
Seamus McMonagle, Unattached 75 Res 15
Peter Ellebye, Denmark 75 Res 18
Patrick Devine, Royal Dublin 75 Res 47
Mark Murphy, Unattached 75 Res 50
Justin Kehoe, Birr 76  
Mervyn Owens, Unattached 76  
Cian Mcnamara, Limerick 77  
Mark O'Sullivan, Galway 77  
Shane Franklin, Athenry 77  
Padraig Dooley, Cork 77  
Michael Horan (A), Birr 77  
Paul McNamara (A), USA 77  
Tim Rice, Limerick 77  
Marcus Warenius, Sweden 78  
Michael McDermott, Stackstown 78  
Melvyn Flanagan, Mount Temple 78  
Tristan Mullally, Moyvalley 78  
Reeve Whitson (A), Mourne 78  
Michael Lavelle, The K Club 79  
Richard Kilpatrick, Banbridge 79  
Andrea Maestroni, Italy 79  
Mark Jargren (A), Sweden 79  
Brendan McCarroll, Unattached 79  
Kevin McGrath, Birr 80  
Niccolo Giusti, Italy 80  
Antonio Iurilli, Italy 80  
Lee Harrington, Limerick 81  
Patrick Geraghty, Glen of the Downs 81  
Dara Lernihan (A), Castle 81  
Mark Campbell, Team Ireland 81  
Barrie Trainor, Unattached 81  
Steven Mackie, Dunnikier Park 81  
Paul McDonald, Elm Park 81  
Leslie Walker, Dundalk 81  
Darren McWilliams, Unattached 82  
David Jones, Royal Portrush 82  
Robert Hutton, Downpatrick 82  
Marco Donghi, Italy 83  
David Goldenberg, Israel 83  
John McDermott, Dun Laoghaire 83  
William Noble, County Cavan 83  
John Sugrue, Tralee 83  
Alex Senoner, Italy 84  
Gavin Lunny, Naas 84  
Francis Howley, Carton House 84  
Justin Brink, Republic of Ireland 85  
John Dignam, Slade Valley 85  
Niall Turner, Unattached 86  
Hans Andersson, Sweden 86  
Mark Heinemann, Skellig Bay 88  
Ronan Collins, Monkstown 89  
Colin Walsh, Castlebar 90  
James Harris, New Zealand 90  
Lewis Parker, Limerick 93  
Byron Campbell (A), Malone NR  
Denis Doyle, Mitchelstown NR  
Maximilian Kieffer (A), Germany Scr  
Alexander Knappe (A), Germany Scr  
David Lovett, European Club NR  
Brian McElhinney, Team Ireland Scr  
Thomas O'Neill, Rathsallagh Scr  
Roderick Park, Peter Mitchell Golf Scr  
Stephane Pelletier, France Scr  
Philip Ring, Elmgreen NR  
Conor Thornton, Dundalk Scr