Defending champion Shane Lowry remained on course to retain the West of Ireland championship title at Rosses Point.

The Esker Hills international beat Lee Valley’s Sean Barry 5&3 before seeing off JP Hughes of Douglas 5&4 in the afternoon and now faces Malahide’s Gavin O’Connor in the last 16.

Leading qualifier Niall Kearney had an impressive 6&4 win over local man Adrian Wynne before knocking out Knock’s Nicky Grant 3&2 to set up a tough thrid round tie with the combative former North and East of Ireland champion Michael Sinclair.

Kearney has the toughest side of the draw with veteran Pat Murray and young guns Alan Dunbar, Luke Lennox and Kelan McDonagh all lurking.

Lowry's biggest challenge could come in the quarter-finals, where he is schedule to meet Strandhill’s Tommy McGowan, the local hope.

Third round draw

08.00 James Monaghan (Island) v Jim Mulready (Castle)

08.10 Michael Hearn (Chorley, UK) v Cian Curley (Newlands)

08.20 Chris Drumm (Rosslare)) v Tommy McGowan (Strandhill)

08.30 Gavin O’Connor (Malahide) v Shane Lowry (Esker Hills)

08.40 Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin) v Michael Sinclair (Knock)

08.50 Luke Lennox (Moyola Park) v Pat Murray (limerick)

09.00 Alan Dunbar (Rathmore) v Kelan McDonagh (Athlone/NUIM)

09.10 Jonathan Hurst (Shawhill, UK) v David Corsby (Royal Lytham)


Second round

James Monaghan (Island) bt Alan Duffy (Royal Tara) 2/1 

Jim Mulready (Castle) bt Chris Selfridge (Moyola Park) 2/1 

Michael Hearn (Chorley, UK) bt Jaoa Carlota (Villamoura) 3/2

Cian Curley (Newlands) bt R. J. Cannon (L’town & B’town) 1 hole

Chris Drumm (Rosslare) bt Eoin Arthurs (Forrest Little) 2 holes

Tommy McGowan (Strandhill) bt Gerard Lawlor (Newbridge) 4/3

Gavin O'Connor (Malahide) bt Stephen Brady (Co. Sligo) 5/4

Shane Lowry (Esker Hills) bt J. P. Hughes (Douglas) 5/4

Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin) bt Nicky Grant (Knock) 3/2

Michael Sinclair (Knock) bt Barry Daly (Edmondstown) 6/5

Luke Lennox (Moyola Park) bt Gerard Dunne (Seapoint) 1 hole

Pat Murray (Limerick) bt Richard Bridges Stackstown/NUIM) 2/1

Alan Dunbar (Rathmore) bt Eddie McCormack (Galway) 3/1 

Kelan McDonagh (Athlone/NUIM) bt Stephen Dwyer (Newlands) 5/4

Jonathan Hurst (Shawhill, UK) bt Darren Crowe (Dunmurry) 5/4

David Corsby (Royal Lytham) bt Des Morgan (Mullingar) 2/1


First round 

James Monaghan (Island) w/o Randal Evans (Moyola Park) WD

Alan Duffy (Royal Tara) bt Rory McNamara (Headfort) 3/2

Chris Selfridge (Moyola Park) bt Gerard Kelly (Co. Louth) 3/2

Jim Mulready (Castle) bt Gareth Bohill (Co. Louth) 1up

Jaoa Carlota (Villamoura) bt Stephen Crowe (Dunmurry) 19th

Michael Hearn (Chorley, UK) bt Gary McDermott (Co. Sligo) 3/2

J. Cannon (L’town & B’town) bt Chris Keightley (East Clare) 3/2

Cian Curley (Newlands) bt David Finn (Mallow) 3/1

Chris Drumm (Rosslare) bt Alan Condren (Greystones) 3/2

Eoin Arthurs (Forrest Little) bt Ian Brennan (Greenore) 2/1

Gerard Lawlor (Newbridge) bt Eoin O’Connor (Ballybunion) 19th

Tommy McGowan (Strandhill) bt Declan McInerney (Lahinch) 3/2

Gavin O’Connor (Malahide) bt David Kelleher (Portmarnock) 2/1

Stephen Brady (Co. Sligo) bt Richard Walsh (Kilkenny) 6/5

J. P. Hughes (Douglas) bt Ben Best (Rathmore) 2 holes

Shane Lowry (Esker Hills) bt Sean Barry (Lee Valley) 5/3

Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin) bt Adrian Wynne (Strandhill) 6/4

Nicky Grant (Knock) bt Rick Weldon (Hermitage) 8/6

Barry Daly (Edmondstown) bt Barry Anderson (Co. Sligo) 4/3

Michael Sinclair (Knock) bt Michael Brett (Portmarnock) 3/2

Luke Lennox (Moyola Park) bt Martin Poucher (Limerick) 6/4

Gerard Dunne (Seapoint) bt Gareth Dillon (Heath) 3/1

Pat Murray (Limerick) bt Andrew Palmer (Chorley, UK) 1 hole

Richard Bridges (Stackstown/NUIM) bt Adrian Lynch (Bray) 6/5

Alan Dunbar (Rathmore) bt Niall Gorey (Lee Valley) 2/1

Eddie McCormack (Galway) bt Andrew Morris (Belvoir Park) 4/3 

Kelan McDonagh (Athlone/NUIM) bt Rory Leonard (Banbridge) 3/2

Stephen Dwyer (Newlands) bt Alan Harty (West Waterford) 2 holes

Jonathan Hurst (Shawhill, UK) bt Simon McConnell (Ballyclare) 8/7

Darren Crowe (Dunmurry) bt Michael Kemmy (Limerick) 4/3

Des Morgan (Mullingar) bt David Sutton (Lurgan) 3/2

Stephen Loftus (Lahinch) bt David Corsby (Royal Lytham) 3/2