Esker Hills ace Shane Lowry believes Rory McIlroy's amazing success can inspire his former amateur pals to Walker Cup glory.

The reigning North and West of Ireland champion was named in the 28-strong Great Britain and Ireland squad alongside Niall Kearney, Paul Cutler,  Simon Ward, Alan Dunbar and Dara Lernihan.

Lowry said: "Watching Rory win in Dubai was fantastic. He is unbelievable. It gives us all a bit of confidence because just two years ago, Rory was playing with all of us in the West.

"It is not like he was winning everything so it makes us all feel that we can do it. He is 16th in the world now which is just incredible."

Ranked 13th in the world amateur rankings, Lowry is expected to follow in McIlroy's footsteps make the 10-man Walker Cup side to face the US at Merion in Pennsylvania from 12 - 13 September.

But he knows he can't get to become obsessed by making the side, explaining: "It's a bit like what Rory said about making the Ryder Cup team - it's a reward for playing well.

"The Walker Cup is one of my main goals but I can't afford to get too caught up in it because I will be putting too much pressure on myself to do well."

Lowry was a member of the Irish side that retained the European Amateur Team title last summer and then claimed the Triple Crown for the first time in 18 years.

Team mates Johnny Caldwell, Gareth Shaw and Paul O'Hanlon all turned professional at the end of last season with Caldwell earning his European Tour card at the Q-School.

Lowry failed to make it through stage two as an amateur last term, but hopes to got the distance as a Walker Cup player this year and join forces with McIlroy and Co on tour.

GB&I Walker Cup squad:  Todd Adcock (Nevill); Wallace Booth (Comrie); Paul Cutler (Portstewart); Gavin Dear (Murrayshall); Alan Dunbar (Rathmore); Nigel Edwards (Whitchurch); Ben Enoch (Truro); Rhys Enoch (Truro); Steven McEwan (Caprington); Tommy Fleetwood (Formby Hall); Charlie Ford (Kirby Muxloe); Luke Goddard (Hendon); Matt Haines (Rochester & Cobham Park); Paul O’Hara (Colville Park); Sam Hutsby (Liphook); Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin); Dara Lernihan (Castle); Shane Lowry (Esker Hills);   Keir McNicoll (Carnoustie); Chris Paisley (Stocksfield); Eddie Pepperell (Drayton Park); Tom Sherreard (Chart Hills); Michael Stewart (Troon Welbeck); Steven Uzzell (Hornsea); Simon Ward (Co Louth); Ben Westgate (Trevose); Dale Whitnell (Five Lakes); Gordon Yates (Hilton Park)