Defending champion Darren Crowe will face Limerick's Michael Kemmy in the second round of the South of Ireland championship at Lahinch.

In form Kemmy thrashed Clonmel's Brendan Keating 7 and 6 at the stunning Co Clare links but last year's beaten finalist, Galway's Joe Lyons crashed out to Westmanstown's David Reilly 3 and 2.

Co Louth veteran Barry Reddan beat Cork's Alan Harrington by one hole to set up a second round meeting with Bandon's Kieran Hurley while the reigning North and West of Ireland champion Shane Lowry will take on Matthew McAlpin of Royal Portrush following the Ulsterman's excellent one hole win over Brian O'Connor of the Hermitage.

Early 1st rd:
A Meskell (Tipperary) bt A Wynne (Strandhill) 3/2;
D Reilly (Westmanstown) bt J Lyons (Galway) 3/2;
N Goulding (Portmarnock) bt I Brennan ((Greenore) 3/2;
G Nugent (Kilkenny) bt D Coyne (Galway) 3/2;
D Glynn (Galway) bt P O'Rourke(Kilkenny) 1 hole;
G Bohill (Co Louth) bt G Flynn (Delgany) 8/6;
K McDonagh (Athlone/NUIM) bt M Hammond (Moyola Park) 3/2;
J Hannan (Carton House) bt M Whelan (East Clare) 3/2;
D Scully (Galway) bt S Gannon (Co Louth) 20th;
M Ryan (Grange) bt A Daly (Delgany) 3/2;
C O'Connor (Athlone) bt B Loftus (Ennis) 5/3;
R O'Sullivan (Fota Island) bt A Carroll (Castlewarden) 5/4;
R Symington (Lisburn) bt R Purcell (Abbeyleix) 5/4;
K Crowley (Lee Valley) bt D O'Rourke (Clonmel) 6/4;
E Long (Thurles) bt bt P Wallace (Carton House) 4/3;
M AcAlpin (Royal Portrush) bt B O'Connor (Hermitage) 1 h;
M Welsh (Knock) bt M King (Athenry) 8/7;
B Keenan (The Heath) bt P Connolly (Clontarf) 4/3;
I Murphy (Waterford) bt P Byrne (Killeen) 5/3;
I O'Rourke (Cork) bt D Carroll (The Grange) 3/2;
G McGrane (The Royal Dublin ) bt J Reynolds (Dungarvan) 2/1;
K Canty (Douglas) bt M Rowe (Glasson) 1 hole;
S Doherty (Malone) bt G Purtill (Shannon) 4/3;
M Kemmy (Limerick) bt B Keating (Clonmel) 7/6;
H Boch (Ballybunion) bt M Kingstown (Bantry Bay) 1 hole;
P Sheehan (Ballybunion) bt D King (Tramore) 6/4;
J Tobin (Carrick-on-Suir) bt S Webster (Castle) 4/2;
M Timmins (Mount Wolsley) bt S Dwyer (Newlands) 19th;
D O'Driscoll (Ballybunion) bt K Connolly (Portarlington) 2/1;
D Byrne (Douglas) bt J patterson (Knock) 20th;
M Poucher (Limerick) bt M Feane (Lahinch) 2/1;
T O'Dowd (Killeen) bt R Kenny (Woodlands) 4/3;
D Conway (Portmarnock) bt C McKenna (Mallow) 1 hole;
E O'Connor (Ballybunion) bt I Spillane (Mallow) 1 hole;
J Keating (Kinsale) bt G Kelly (Co Louth) 1 hole;
B V Reddan (Co Louth) bt A Harrington (Cork) 1 hole;
J Stevenson (Royal Portrush) bt D Hogan (Killeen) 3/2;
G Smyth (Clonmel) bt S Smyth (Co Louth) 1 hole;
J McNally (Stoke Park) bt A Considine (Ennis) 4/3;
C Martin (Kilkenny) bt G Dillon (The Heath) 2/1;
L Mulligan (Stackstown) bt J Hanby (Castle) 4/3;
A Lynch (Bray) bt D Ruddy (Thurles) 2/1;
G Dunne (Seapoint) bt J Waldron (Muskerry) 19th;
P Sheehy (Lahinch) bt L Butler (East Cork) 3/2;
G O'Flaherty (Cork) bt R Knightley (The Royal Dublin) 3/1;
D Coghlan (The Royal Dublin) bt M Shanahan (West Waterford) 3/1;
T Brannock (Newlands) bt J G Kavanagh (Castletroy) 1 hole;
S Walsh (Killeen) bt D Morris (Limerick) 1 hole;
S Maher (Hyannis Port) bt J Cussen (Newcastle West) 2/1;
D Downie (Sutton) bt M Mullen (Wexford) 2/1;
S McGlynn (Castle) bt H MacKeown (Portmarnock) 2/1;
D O’Donovan (Bandon) bt S Alley(Co Tipperary) 1 hole;
D McCusker (Moyola Park) bt K Fahey (Connemara) 4/2;
T Cleary (East Clare) bt M McGinley (The Grange) 2/1;
L Costello (Hollystown) bt M O’Kelly (Limerick) 1 hole;
R.Walsh (Kilkenny) bt D.Simpson (Malone) 20th;
I Morrison (Lahinch) bt S Horgan (Monkstown) 5/4;
M Collins (Mahon) bt P Butler (Cahir Park) 4/3;
S Kenneally (Kinsale) bt P Buckley (Kanturk) 1 hole;
B Campbell (Malone) bt B O’Donovan (Bandon) 20th;
Simon Keelan (Douglas) bt Liam Ashby (Killerig) 1 hole;
F Deasy (Cork) bt B Fennelly (Royal Dublin) 1 hole;
J O’Neill(Lee Valley) bt J Fitzgerald(Limerick) 1 hole;
T Neenan (Lahinch) bt N Pyne (Ennis) 3/2.