Lisa Maguire in last 16 at Close

Teenager Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell) with 3 birdies over the first 4 holes paved her way to the last 16 with victory over Ann Geoghegan (Athlone).  Lisa followed up with birdies on the 7th and 10th and won out the match on the 14th hole.

Current International Gillian O’Leary (Cork) had a tight start against past International Sinead Keane (The Curragh) but took the lead with birdies on 7 and 8 and followed this up with another on 13 before winning the match with a birdie on the 16th.

Sarah Helly (Enniscrone) was thrilled with her result against fellow Connaught player Anne McCormack (Roscommon) and now looks forward to taking up the challenge against Mary Dowling (New Ross) who had stiff competition against Helen Jones (Strabane).  Mary said of the friendly encounter, “I missed a short putt on the 18th but made up for it with a birdie to win on the 19th”

Niamh Kitching played steady golf with great club support from Claremorris and comes up against Gemma Hegarty (Greencastle) who has displayed fine consistency herself over the tournament to date.

Jenny Gannon (Co Louth) commented “I had a few birdies and held a few putts and that made all the difference”.  Jenny meets a fired up Tara Delaney (Carlow) who defeated local Sarah Gallagher  (Claremorris) 9 and 8.

Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) in the bottom half of the draw defeated defending champion Karen Delaney (Carlow) 5 and 3.  Lisa plays Leinster Under 18 Interprovincial player Carla Reynolds (Seapoint) who had a 2 and 1 win against Karen O’Neill from Douglas.

Darragh McGowan (Ballybofey & Stranorlar) had a fine 4 and 3 win against in form Under 18 Inter Pro player Emma O’Driscoll (Ballybunion).

Ann Marie Dalton (Coollattin) following her recent victory in the States commented “I hit the ball well and the putts dropped” and won her match on the 11th hole against Muskerry’s Laura McCarthy.  Ann Marie now plays Leinster Interprovincial and past Girls International Dawn Marie Conaty (Ashbourne) in the last 16.

The biggest upset of the day was with Maura Morrin who as runner up of the Leitrim Cup was favourite in her match against Sarah Carty (The Island), but Sarah has proved herself to be a great match player and won with a birdie on the 20th hole.  Tomorrow, Sarah plays Una Marsden (Tullamore)  who had a great 5 and 4 win against another upcoming Under 18 player Sarah Crowe (Tipperary).

CHAMPIONSHIP ROUND 2 – Tuesday 20th May 2008
09:00 Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell) –v- Gillian O’Leary (Cork)
09:09 Sarah Helly (Enniscrone) –v- Mary Dowling (New Ross)
09:18 Gemma Hegarty (Greencastle) –v- Niamh Kitching (Claremorris)
09:27 Jennifer Gannon (Co. Louth) –v- Tara Delaney (Carlow)
09:36 Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) –v- Carla Reynolds (Seapoint)
09:45 Darragh McGowan (Ballybofey & Stranorlar) –v- Ciara Butler (Newlands)
09:54 Ann Marie Dalton (Coollattin) –v- Dawn Marie Conaty (Ashbourne)
10:03 Una Marsden (Tullamore) –v- Sarah Carty (The Island)

CHAMPIONSHIP ROUND 1 – Monday 19th May 2008
Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell) beat Ann Geoghegan (Athlone) 5&4
Gillian O'Leary (Cork) beat Sinead Keane (The Curragh) 3&2
Sarah Helly (Enniscrone) beat Anne McCormack (Roscommon) by 1 hole
Mary Dowling (New Ross) beat Helen Jones (Strabane) on the 19th
Gemma Hegarty (Greencastle) beat Caoimhe Quinn (Dungannon) 3&2
Niamh Kitching (Claremorris) beat Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth) 4&3
Jennifer Gannon (Co. Louth) beat Maria Dunne (Skerries)7&6
Tara Delaney (Carlow) beat Sarah Gallagher (Claremorris) 9&8
Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) beat Karen Delaney (Carlow) 5&3
Carla Reynolds (Seapoint) beat Karen O'Neill (Douglas) by 1 hole
Darragh McGowan (B/Stranorlar) beat Emma O'Driscoll (Ballybunion) 4&3
Ciara Butler (Newlands) beat Sarah Faller (Galway) on the 20th
Ann Marie Dalton (Coollattin) beat Laura McCarthy (Muskerry) 8&7
Dawn Marie Conaty (Ashbourne) beat Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) 3&1
Una Marsden (Tullamore) beat Sarah Crowe (Tipperary) 5&4
Sarah Carty (The Island) beat Maura Morrin (The Curragh) on the 20th

ITA WALLACE (PLATE) SEMI FINAL - Tuesday 20th May 2008
10:15 Julie O'Gara (Roscommon) -v- Catherine Tucker (Limerick)
10:24 Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) -v- Violet McBride (Belvoir Park)
ITA WALLACE ROUND 2 – Monday 19th May 2008
Julie O'Gara (Roscommon) beat Doireann Carney (Galway) 3&2
Catherine Tucker (Limerick) beat Fiona Moclair (Ballinasloe) 3&2
Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) beat Hannah O'Brien (Lahinch) 3&1
Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) beat Trish Doyle (Kanturk) 3&2
ITA WALLACE ROUND 1 – Monday 19th May 2008
Doireann Carney (Galway) beat Sue Phillips (Woodbrook) 3&2
Julie O'Gara (Roscommon) beat Orla Barry (Galway) on the 20th
Fiona Moclair (Ballinasloe) beat Olivia Conroy (Co. Longford) by 1 hole
Catherine Tucker (Limerick) beat Lynda Maher (Charleville) 5&4
Hannah O'Brien (Lahinch) beat Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) 4&3
Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) beat Shauna McVeigh (Royal Co. Down Ladies) by 2 holes
Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) beat Linda Toomey (Limerick) 3&2
Trish Doyle (Kanturk) beat Fiona McComb (Ballycastle) by 1 hole
143 Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell) 69 74
147 Maura Morrin (The Curragh) 72 75
148 Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) 75 73
151 Tara Delaney (Carlow) 74 77
152 Gemma Hegarty (Greencastle) 76 76
153 Ciara Butler (Newlands) 76 77
155 Ann Marie Dalton (Coollattin) 77 78 Mary Dowling (New Ross) 76 79
156 Anne McCormack (Roscommon) 79 77, Dawn Marie Conaty (Ashbourne) 77 79
157 Emma O'Driscoll (Ballybunion) 78 79  
158 Niamh Kitching (Claremorris) 80 78, Jennifer Gannon (Co. Louth) 79 79, Carla Reynolds (Seapoint) 78 80, Una Marsden(Tullamore) 78 80  
159 Sinead Keane (The Curragh) 83 76, Gillian O'Leary(Cork) 80 79, Sarah Crowe (Tipperary) 77 82
160 Karen O'Neill (Douglas) 82 78, Naoimh McMahon (Shannon) 77 83
161 Maria Dunne (Skerries) 85 76, Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth) 80 81, Darragh McGowan (Ballybofey & Stranorlar) 79 82
162 Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) 81 81, Sarah Helly (Enniscrone) 80 82 Helen Jones (Strabane) 79 83
163 Laura McCarthy (Muskerry) 86 77, Sarah Faller (Galway) 80 83
164 Caoimhe Quinn (Dungannon) 81 83
165 Sarah Gallagher (Claremorris) 77 88
166 Karen Delaney (Carlow) 87 79, Sarah Carty (The Island) 83 83, Ann Geoghegan (Athlone) 81 85

Note: Naoimh McMahon (Shannon) 160 unavailable for Match Play

Ita Wallace Qualifiers
167 Sue Phillips (Woodbrook) 87 80 Trish Doyle (Kanturk) 82 85 Vicki Power (Dundalk)  77 90
168 Hannah O'Brien (Lahinch) 85 83
169 Catherine Tucker (Limerick) 85 84 Fiona Moclair (Ballinasloe) 83 86
170 Ailish Thompson (Douglas) 87 83 Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) 87 83, Violet McBride(Belvoir Park) 85 85, Julie O'Gara(Roscommon) 82 88
171 Orla Barry (Galway) 83 88
173 Linda Toomey (Limerick) 91 82 Shauna McVeigh (Royal Co. Down Ladies) 88 85, Olivia Conroy (Co. Longford) 86 87
174 Marie Sudway (Glasson) 89 85
175 Lynda Maher (Charleville) 90 85
176 Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) 90 86 Fiona McComb (Ballycastle) 86 90
177 Doireann Carney (Galway) 89 88
Note: Vicky Power (Dundalk), Ailish Thompson (Douglas) and Marie Sudway (Glasson) unavailable for Match Play

Non - Qualifiers
178 Carmel O'Connor (Westport) 82 96
180 Maria Cahill (Abbeyleix) 89 91 Aoife McHale (Castlebar) 87 93
181 Laura Boylan (Skerries) 89 92
182 Mai McCann (Narin & Portnoo) 93 89
185 Margaret Corcoran (Bray) 95 90
186 Theresa Delahunty (Rathdowney) 99 87
187 Susan McGann O'Brien (Tuam) 92 95