Maguires win Schools title

Thirteen year old twins Leona and Lisa Maguire (Loreto College Cavan) won the 2008 Suzuki Irish Schools Cup at Milltown Golf Club.
Lisa and her sister Leona shot a gross score of 153 to fend off runners-up, the Ursuline College, Sligo. Lisa and Leona were in sparkling form all day.

Lisa, who plays off scratch, shot a birdie on the first and despite a dropped shot on the sixth, she turned level par through nine. A further dropped shot on the tenth was the only blemish on a near perfect card. One handicapper, Leona, found the going a little tougher, finishing her round in 84
Ciara Butler from the High School, Rathgar returned an impressive 77 which included birdies at the second and seventeenth. Presentation Wexford’s Emma Murphy fired a quality 87 off 16 handicap to scoop the best nett score of the day.
There was more success for the Maguire family when Lisa’s round of 74 won her the Mary Nowlan Trophy having returned the best gross score of the day.
The launch and draw for the Suzuki Senior Cup took place alongside the School’s Cup Final. General Manager of Suzuki Ireland spoke of his pride to be linked with the Irish Ladies Golf Union (ILGU): “We are delighted to be associated with the ILGU and the prestigious Senior Cup for the sixth year now. We would like to take this opportunity to wish each member of the competing teams the very vest of luck.”
Ann Bradshaw, President of the ILGU commented on the partnership: “Suzuki Ireland has been sponsoring the Senior Cup since 2003 and with their support we have seen this team event for club golfers go from strength to strength. Additionally, their support of the Irish Schools Cup will ensure continued growth of the game at grass roots level,” Bradshaw said.
The draw for the 2008 Suzuki Senior Cup District Qualifiers also took place in Milltown today. 2007 Senior Cup Champions Ennis square off Killarney in the first round of the Southern Division while last year’s runners-up, Royal Portush face a tough test against Clandeboyne in the Northern District.
Eastern District Champions, Co. Louth will face Headfort in Woodbrook on 23rd May, while last year’s beaten semi-finalists Laytown / Bettsytown drew a tough test against the winners of Howth or Delgany. The draws for the Western and Northern divisions will take place in June.
Suzuki Irish Schools Championships
158 Loreto College, Cavan (Leona Maguire 84 and Lisa Maguire 74)
173 The Ursuline College, Sligo (Amy Gaynor 90 and Aisling O’Connor 83)
175 The High School, Rathgar (Ciara Butler 77 and Amy Jones 96)
176 Presentation Wexford (Emma Murphy 87 and Tara Dunne 89)
201 Crescent College, Limerick (Eimear McManus 97 and vicki Morris 104)

Suzuki Senior Cup – District Qualifers
Southern District –10th – 11th May – Monkstown
Ennis v Killareny; Bandon v Limerick; Monkstown v Castletroy ;Clonmel v Mallow; Cork v Tralee ;Nenagh v Muskerry ;Tipperary v Ballybunion; Charleville v Douglas
Eastern District – 23rd – 25th May – Woodbrook
Preliminary Round:
Craddockstown v Elm Park; Howth v Delgany; Malahide v Hermitage; Black Bush v Powerscourt; Greystones v Ardee
First Round:
Co. Louth v Headford; Howth or Delgany v Laytown / Bettystown; Greenore v Malahide or Hermitage; Woodbrook v Donabate; Greystones v Grange; Newlands v Craddockstown or Elm Park; Milltown v Black Bush; Castle v The Island
Northern District – 26th – 27th May – Bangor
Clandeboyne v Royal Portrush; Shandon Park v Bangor; Belvoir Park v Malone; Royal Belfast v Royal County Down; Royal Belfast or Royal County Down v Slieve Russell.