Strong entry for Ladies Close

Carlow's Karen Delaney will defend her Lancôme Irish Women's Close Championship title when competitors tee off at Westport Golf Club, Saturday 17 to Wednesday 21 May 2008.
Hot on her heels will be sister Tara, returning from the States for the event, recently crowned Munster Champion Niamh Kitching (Claremorris) and 2004 Champion Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth).

The field boasts several Senior and Junior Internationals while the thirteen year old Maguire twins, Lisa and Leona, line out once again in the ILGU blue-ribboned event. 

Entries close Friday 25th April 2008.
Entries received:

Orla Barry (Galway) Ciara Butler (Newlands) Maria Cahill (Abbeyleix) Doireann Carney (Galway) Sarah Carty (The Island) Dawn Marie Conaty (Ashbourne) Olivia Conroy (Co. Longford) Margaret  Corcoran (Bray) Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) Sarah Crowe (Tipperary) Ann Marie Dalton (Coollattin) Alice Davis (Royal Tara) Theresa Delahunty (Rathdowney) Karen Delaney (Carlow) Tara Delaney (Carlow) Mary Dowling (New Ross) Trish Doyle (Kanturk) Maria Dunne (Skerries)

Sarah Faller (Galway) Breda Farrell (Ballinasloe) Sarah Gallagher (Claremorris) Jennifer Gannon (Co. Louth) Ann Geoghegan (Athlone) Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) Gemma Hegarty (Greencastle) Sarah Helly (Enniscrone) Vivienne Houston (City of Derry) Fiona Howard (Muswell Hill) Helen Jones (Strabane) Niamh Kitching (Claremorris) Ruth Maguire (Corrstown) Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell) Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) Lynda Maher (Charleville) Una Marsden (Tullamore) Mary Mather (Cill Dara) Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) Mai McCann (Narin & Portnoo) Michelle McCarthy (Clonmel) Laura McCarthy (Muskerry) Fiona McComb (Ballycastle) Anne McCormack (Roscommon)  Susan McGann O'Brien (Tuam) Darragh McGowan (Ballybofey & Stranorlar) Naoimh McMahon (Shannon) Shauna McVeigh (RCDL) Fiona Moclair (Ballinasloe) Maura Morrin (The Curragh)

Carmel O'Connor (Westport) Emma O'Driscoll (Ballybunion) Julie O'Gara (Roscommon) Gillian O'Leary (Cork) Karen O'Neill (Douglas) Sinead O'Sullivan (Galway) Sue Phillips (Woodbrook) Vicki Power (Dundalk) Caoimhe Quinn (Dungannon) Maura Rafftery (Co. Sligo) Carla Reynolds (Seapoint) Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth) Marie Sudway (Glasson) Ailish Thompson (Douglas) Linda Toomey (Limerick) Catherine Tucker (Limerick)