McIlroy fails to win Rookie of the Year

Rory McIlroy came up short as Spain’s Pablo Larrazabal grabbed the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year Award.

Winner of the French Open, Larrazabal became the fourth Spaniard to receive the award following José Maria Olazábal in 1986, Sergio Garcia in 1999 and Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño in 2005.

McIlroy and the English duo of Robert Dinwiddie and Ross McGowan were serious contenders but the Spaniard's win in Paris and his 18th place finish in the Order of Merit proved to be decisive.

Peter Lawrie became the first Irish winner of the Rookie of the Year award in 2003.