Irish Golf Desk
Irish Golf Desk
Golf news and features

West of Ireland 1936

County Sligo Golf Club, 10-14 April 1936

Entry 30


Final - April 14

John Burke, Newlands bt John F. McLoughlin, Royal Dublin 11/10



McLoughlin beat Ewing, 2 and 1. 

Burke beat Healy, 5 and 4.


Third round

J.F. McLoughlin (Royal Dublin) beat F. E. Smith (Prestbury), 7 and 6. 

Cecil Ewing (holder) (Rosses Point) beat J. R. Mahon (Dublin University), 2 and 1. 

T.A. Healy (Portmarnock) beat M. Knightly (Royal Dublin), 2 and 1. 

Sean Burke (Newlands) beat P.G. Campbell (Greystones), 6 and 5.


Second Round

Smith beat De Fleury, 2 and 1

McLoughlin beat McGrorty 3 and 1 

Ewing beat Bell 6 and 4

Mahon beat Anderson 6 and 5

Healy beat Duggan 3 and 2; 

Knightly beat Lyons 8 and 7

Burke beat Cahill, 5 and 4; 

Campbell beat Dunne, 5 and 4


First round

A. De Fleury (Co Sligo) bye

F. N. Smith. (Prestbury) beat Major Martin (Foxrock) 3 and 2 

V.J. McGrorty  (Bundoran) beat Victor Hamilton (Woodbrook) at 19th

J.F. McLoughlin. (Royal Dublin) beat M. Hennigan (Portmarnock) 1 up

Cecil Ewing (Co Sligo) (holder) beat L. King French (Hermitage) 5 and 4

P.A. Bell (Portmarnock) beat J.T. Towers (North-West) 1 up

C.F. Anderson (Portmarnock) beat J.D. Dwyer (Royal  Dublin) 3 and 2

J.R. Mahon (Dublin University) beat P.R. Smith (Portmarnock) 5 and 4

T. A. Healy (Portmarnock) beat Judge Shannon (Royal Dublin) 2 and 1 

Kevin Duggan (Hermitage) beat Al McNeive (Newlands) 2 up

J.W. Lewis (Co Sligo) beat J.L. Crabbe (Foxrock) at 19th

M.J. Knightly (Royal Dublin) beat J. McHugh (Bundoran) 4 and 2

John Burke (Newlands) beat P.J. O'Gorman (Bundoran) 5 and 4

W.P. Cahill  (Galway) beat J.A. Gallagher (Strabane) 2 up

Dr. J Dunne (Co. Sligo) beat Col. J. O'Reilly (Royal Dublin) 7 and 6

Hon. P.J. Campbell, Greystones, a bye.