Leinster in pole position in Interpros
Keith Egan (Carton House). Picture:  Pat Cashman

Keith Egan (Carton House). Picture: Pat Cashman

Leinster took a big step towards the Interprovincial Championship when they beat holders Munster 8.5-2.5 on day two in Tullamore.

Connacht fell 6-5 to Ulster and must now beat Leinster in the final round of matches on Friday to maintain their hopes of a first win since 2011.

International caps are up for grabs in Tullamore and Leinster's Keith Egan is the only player with a 100 percent winning record from four matches.

Leinster have formed some strong partnerships with Rob Brazill and Rowan Lester, Hugh Foley and Alan Fahy and Egan and O’Hanlon winning on both days.

Fahy and Foley face a tough task against the unbeaten Sean Flanagan and TJ Ford while Lester and Brazill will be under pressure against Harry Gillivan and Alan Hill, who have secured halves in their first two matches together.

Egan and O’Hanlon also have a tough task against AIG Irish Close champion Ronan Mullarney and Forrest Little’s Jack McDonnell who will be smarting after two defeats in a row.

Team standings


Players records

Player (Club)Day 1 FoursomesDay 1 SinglesDay 2 FoursomesDay 2 SinglesDay 3 FoursomesDay 3 SinglesTotal
Keith Egan (Carton House) L11114
Rowan Lester (Hermitage) L1110.53.5
Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) L1110.53.5
Sean Flanagan (Portmarnock) C11103
Joe Lyons (Galway) C111-3
TJ Ford (Co Sligo) C10113
Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint) U01113
Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin) L11103
Robert Moran (Castle) L10113
Rob Brazill (Naas) L10113
Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle) U010.512.5
Eanna Griffin (Waterford) M1100.52.5
Gerard Dunne (Co Louth) L1-10.52.5
Ronan Mullarney (Galway) C01012
Simon Walker (Roscommon) C10102
Paul O’Hanlon (Carton House) L101-2
Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock) M01012
Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene) U00112
Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas) M10.5001.5
Allan Hill (Athenry) C0.5-
Pat Murray (Clontarf) M0100.51.5
Matthew McClean (Malone) U01001
Harry Gillivan (Westport) C0.500.501
William Small (Tandragee) U0-011
Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) M0.5-00.51
Jack McDonnell (Forest Little) C00.5000.5
Cathal Butler (Kinsale) M0.50000.5
Marc McKinstry (Cairndhu) U0000.50.5
Rory Williamson (Holywood) U000.500.5
Sean Desmond (Monkstown) M00000
Greg O’Mahony (Fota Island) M000-0
Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick) U000-0

Interprovincial Championship, Tullamore Golf Club

Live scoring

Day Two Results - Thursday 29 August

Connacht 5 Ulster 6


  1. R Mullarney & J McDonnell lost to T McLarnon & C Campbell 4&3;

  2. J Lyons & S Walker bt M McClean & M McKinstry 3&2;

  3. S Flanagan & TJ Ford bt R Black & W Small 2&1;

  4. H Gillivan & A Hill halved with R Williamson & J Hood


  1. R Mullarney bt M McClean 3&2;

  2. S Flanagan lost to T McLarnon 4&2;

  3. S Walker lost to C Campbell 2&1;

  4. A Hill halved with M McKinstry;

  5. H Gillivan lost to W Small 1 hole;

  6. TJ Ford bt R Williamson 2&1;

  7. J McDonnell lost to J Hood 1 hole.

Munster 2.5 Leinster 8.5


  1. P O’Keeffe & E Griffin lost to R Brazill & R Lester 4&2;

  2. A McCormack & G O’Mahony lost to H Foley & A Fahy 5&3;

  3. C Butler & S Desmond lost to R Moran & G Dunne 1 hole;

  4. G Lenehan & P Murray lost to P O’Hanlon & K Egan 3&2


  1. E Griffin halved with R Lester;

  2. P O’Keeffe lost to R Brazill 5&4;

  3. S Desmond lost to K Egan 1 hole;

  4. G Lenehan bt H Foley 1 hole;

  5. A McCormack halved with G Dunne;

  6. C Butler lost to R Moran 4&3;

  7. P Murray halved with A Fahy

Day Three Draw - Friday 30 August

0800 Ulster v Munster


  1. T McLarnon & C Campbell v P O’Keeffe & G Lenehan;

  2. M McClean & M McKinstry v S Desmond & E Griffin;

  3. R Black & W Small v C Butler & G O’Mahony;

  4. J Hood & R Williamson v P Murray & A McCormack

0840 Leinster v Connacht


  1. R Brazill & R Lester v H Gillivan & A Hill;

  2. A Fahy & H Foley v S Flanagan & TJ Ford;

  3. R Moran & G Dunne v S Walker & J Lyons;

  4. K Egan & P O’Hanlon v R Mullarney & J McDonnell

Singles in afternoon.