Lally beats par to win Leinster Under 16 Boys crown
Winner David Lally (Blainroe) won the Leinster Boys Under 16 Close 2019 at Ashbourne Golf Club. Photo: Ronan Quinlan/ Cashman Photography

Winner David Lally (Blainroe) won the Leinster Boys Under 16 Close 2019 at Ashbourne Golf Club. Photo: Ronan Quinlan/Cashman Photography

Blainroe’s David Lally shot the only sub-par score of the day to win the Leinster Boys Under 16 Close Championship at Ashbourne.

He made three birdies and two bogeys in a one-under 70 to edge out Malahide’s Gavin O’Neill by one stroke as Edmondstown’s Thomas Abom and Newlands’ Oisin Reilly posted one-over 72s to share third place.

Lally bogeyed the first but birdied the second before picking up shots at the par-five sixth and short seventh to turn in two-under 34. He then reeled off seven pars in a row before following a six at the long 17th with what turned out to be a winning par at the last.

Leinster Boys U16 Close Championship (Sponsored by Titleist FJ Ireland) , Ashbourne GC (Par 71)

Detailed scores

70 D Lally (Blainroe)

71 G O'Neill (Malahide)

72 T Abom (Edmondstown); O Reilly (Newlands)

73 J La Cumbre (Portarlington); L McKeen (Co. Louth); D McKenna (Laytown & Bettystown); A O'Carroll (Powerscourt)

74 L Mitchell (Portmarnock)

75 D McNicholl (Westmanstown); R O'Shea (Elm Park); J Mitten (Westmanstown)

76 B Scully (Portarlington); A Bolger (Castle); C Sheridan (Craddockstown); O Foley (Ashbourne); M Giles (Greenore)

77 M Holohan (Seapoint); M Fitzgibbon (Portmarnock); P Gogarty (Laytown & Bettystown); S Varian (Dun Laoghaire)

78 J Cunningham (Carton House); C Quinn (Castle); E Freeman (Naas); B Caffrey (Ardee); D Lawley (Newlands); C Ward (Carton House); L Giblin (Carton House); B Nolan (Woodbrook)

79 A McGettrick (Island); P Curran (Edmondstown); A Byrne (Waterford); J McNulty (Headfort); N McGowan (Woodbrook); M O'Brien (Elm Park); S Inglis (Killiney)

80 D Smyth (Castle); E O'Sullivan (Heritage); J Kelly (Dun Laoghaire); M Cully (Royal Tara); T Lanigan (Carton House)

81 C Sullivan (Forrest Little); T Deering (Baltinglass); J Foley (Elm Park); A Murray (Roganstown)

82 A Allabachani (Powerscourt); C McFadden (Headfort); A Armitage (Carrickmines); D Sullivan (Forrest little); J Heavey (Carton House)

83 C Murphy (Dundalk); B Hanratty (Donabate); C Reilly (Royal Tara)

84 C Clarke (Dundalk); M Pippet (Blainroe); A Fraser (Dun Laoghaire); S Harty (Woodbrook)

85 M Furlong (Wexford); R Carolan Maher (Laytown & Bettystown); M O'Connor (Lucan); B O Neill (Waterford); G Tiernan (Co. Louth); M McKeown (Dun Laoghaire)

87 J Quinn (Castle); D Noonan (Dun Laoghaire); A Moran (Castle)

88 N Patterson (Baltinglass); B Bracken (Portmarnock)

89 D Hickey (Portarlington); L McCarroll (Portmarnock); A Kelly (Castle Barna)

92 L Flaherty (Roganstown); Z Kirby (Dun Laoghaire)

95 J Larkin (Powerscourt)

NR 0 A Garvey (Co. Louth); C Mohan (Seapoint)