Hill cruises to emphatic victory in Leinster U16 Boys
Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle) won the Leinster Boys U16 Amateur Open Championship at Beaverstown. Photo: Ronan Quinlan/ Pat Cashman Photography

Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle) won the Leinster Boys U16 Amateur Open Championship at Beaverstown. Photo: Ronan Quinlan/Pat Cashman Photography

Galgorm Castle’s Joshua Hill closed with the joint best round of the day to claim an emphatic four-stroke win in the Leinster Boys U16 Amateur Open Championship at Beaverstown.

He opened with a two-under 70, picking up shots at three of the four par-fives, to lead by two strokes from Royal Portrush’s Alex Darrah, Belvoir Park’s Darcy Hogg and Castle’s James Quinn with Malahide’s Gavin O’Neill a further shot behind.

But he was never to be caught, romping to a wire-to wire victory on five-under par thanks to a three-under par 69 in the second round.

Muskerry’s Zak Collins matched his closing 69 to claim second place on one-under par as Edmondstown’s Liam Abom shot a fine 70 to share third with Darrah and Hogg on one-over.

Leinster Boys U16 Amateur Open Championship, Beaverstown GC (Par 72; CSS Rd 1, 72; Rd 2, 72)

Sponsored by Multi Cargo Ltd

Detailed scores


139 J Hill (Galgorm Castle) 70 69

143 Z Collins (Muskerry) 74 69

145 L Abom (Edmondstown) 75 70, A Darrah (Royal Portrush) 72 73, D Hogg (Belvoir Park) 72 73

148 R Davidson (Knock) 75 73

149 L Cunningham (Galway Bay) 74 75

150 J Foley (Elm Park) 77 73, M Fitzgibbon (Portmarnock) 77 73

151 R Fives (Faithlegg) 77 74, C Sheridan (Craddockstown) 75 76, A King (Faithlegg) 74 77, M Carson (Royal Belfast) 74 77

152 F Hoare (Roscommon) 78 74, L Lyons (Limerick) 78 74, C O'Connor (Roscommon) 76 76, B St. John (Portmarnock) 75 77, G O'Neill (Malahide) 73 79

153 B Wilson (Warrenpoint) 78 75

154 B Nolan (Woodbrook) 76 78, E Garvey (Laytown & Bettystown) 76 78, D Mulligan (The Links Portmarnock)

75 79, O Reilly (Newlands) 74 80

155 P O'Dochartaigh (Gweedore) 78 77, C O'Sullivan (Killiney) 76 79, J Quinn (Castle) 72 83

156 C Feeney (Enniscrone) 78 78, A O'Carroll (Powerscourt) 77 79, T Deering (Baltinglass) 76 80

157 D McNicholl (westmanstown) 78 79, J Strang (Royal Portrush) 78 79, S McLoughlin (Co. Sligo) 78 79, J McMaster (Holywood) 78 79, D McKenna (Laytown & Bettystown) 77 80, C Ward (Carton House) 76 81

158 P Keeling (Roganstown) 78 80, A Kelly (Castle Barna) 77 81

159 C Reilly (Royal Tara) 78 81

161 C Sullivan (Forrest Little) 77 84, M McKeown (Dun Laoghaire) 77 84

163 M O'Sullivan (Ballyneety) 78 85, J McNulty (Headfort) 78 85

165 A Moran (Castle) 78 87

167 P Gogarty (Laytown & Bettystown) 78 89, G Rochford (Bray) 74 93

Missed Cut

79 T Dodds (Rathmore), C Flavin (Youghal), A Challoner (Galway Bay), S Keeling (Roganstown), D Behan (Naas), C McCarthy (USA), M O'Brien (Elm Park), T Jago Byrne (Palmerstown House Estate), T Abom (Edmondstown)

80 C McFadden (Headfort), B O'Neill (Waterford), E Cassidy (Kinsale), C Diggin (Omagh), C Scullion (Moyola Park), M Whelan (Ennis), M Gazi (Tralee), P McGrath (Cregmore), J Mitten (Westmanstown), B Scully (Portarlington), T Lanigan (Carton House)

81 C Rice (Doneraile), C Quinn (Castle), A McGettrick (The Island), A Murray (Roganstown), A Luddy (Mitchelstown), J O'Callaghan (Ballybunion), L Kelly (Belvoir Park), J Laverty (Dundalk), E Freeman (Naas), R O'Shea (Elm Park), A Bolger (Castle), D Cronin (Co. Sligo), J Cunningham (Carton House), L McKeen (Co. Louth), Z Alderdice (Dundalk)

82 C Murphy (Dundalk), L Flaherty (Roganstown), A Byrne (Waterford), C Adams (Woodbrook), P Kennedy (Tipperary), M Cain (Cork), D Lally (Blainroe), M Holohan (Seapoint), B Hanratty (Donabate), J O'Sullivan (Malone), D O'Brien (Athlone), M Giles (Greenore)

83 L Winn (Ballyneety), S Calvert (Ballyneety), N McGowan (Woodbrook), S Varian (Dun Laoghaire), B Caffrey (Ardee), B Hanratty (Donabate), D Sullivan (Forrest little), A Curran (Craddockstown)

84 A Allabachani (Powerscourt), L Freeman (Ballaghaderreen), L Mitchell (Portmarnock), M McCormack (Naas), D Lawley (Newlands), R Donnellan (Galway Bay), C Kelly (Athlone), C Parke (Knock), K Connaughton (Roscommon), A McLaughlin (Moyola Park), P Curran (Edmondstown)

85 N McCormack (Palmerstown House Estate), L McCarroll (Portmarnock), O Murphy (Omagh), S Sex (Portmarnock), H Mc Ardle (Warrenpoint)

86 O Foley (Ashbourne), S Benton (Castle), C Keenan (Balmoral)

87 M Cully (Royal Tara), J Flanagan (Newbridge), A Dineen (Cork), G Tiernan (Co. Louth), E O'Sullivan (The Heritage)

88 J Kelly (Dun Laoghaire), N Patterson (Baltinglass)

89 A Garvey (Co. Louth)

92 D Nevin (Loughrea)

93 M Ball (Rathmore), M Lawlor (St. Anne's)

NR S Harty (Woodbrook), A Raymond (Newlands.