Four Irish into last 32 at South African Amateur
Conor Purcell shows off the Australian Amateur Championship

Conor Purcell shows off the Australian Amateur Championship

Portmarnock’s Conor Purcell remained on course for back-to-back wins as one of four Irishmen through to the last 32 in the South African Amateur Championship in Cape Town.

The first Irish winner of the Australian Amateur Championship last month, the Malahide star (21) beat South Africa’s Philip Taberer 4 and 2 and now takes on Scotland’s James Wilson in today’s second round at King David Mowbray Golf Club.

Mallow’s James Sugrue birdied the 17th to beat Aymeric Laussot of France 2 and 1 and now face South Africa's Wilco Nienaber.

Galway and Maynooth University’s Ronan Mullarney had to dig deep to fend off another South African, Aneurin Gounden one up while Dundalk’s Caolan Rafferty had seven birdies in a 5 and 4 win over South Africa’s Ayden Senger.

There was no joy however for Tiarnan McLarnon, Mark Power, Alex Gleeson or Robert Brazill, who all bowed out in the opening round.

South African Amateur Championship, King David Mowbray GC

First Round – Match Play (RSA unless stated)

L Filippi bt A Sale 4/3;

H O’Kennedy bt A Herrmann GER 2/1;

W Nienaber bt Martin Vorster 5/3;

James Sugrue IRL bt A Laussot FRA 2/1;

J Long GBR bt L van Deventer 4/3;

T Plumb GBR bt R van Velzen 5/4;

G Trew GBR bt C Jarvis 2/1;

N Hessey ENG bt L Letsai 5/4;

E Walker GBR bt Tiarnan McLarnon IRL 7/6;

D Germishuys bt C Johnston 4/3;

J Wright SCO bt B Gildenhuys 3/2;

G Mckay bt J Harvey GBR 4/3;

J Schaper bt S Sliwka GER 19th;

N Muller FRA bt B van Wyk 1Up;

T Snyders bt D Howie SCO 3/2;

J De Bruyn GER bt J Johnston SCO Conceded;

S Swart bt KnHawkins 4/2;

M Holden bt M McCarthy 2Up;

J Duminy bt M Hyde GBR 6/4;

K Cantley SCO bt C Larcelet FRA 5/3;

S Simpson beat Mark Power IRL 5/4;

M Herrmann GER bt F Spencer 3/2;

L Cloete bt M A Hammer GER 2/1;

Ronan Mullarney IRL bt A Gounden 1Up;

Caolan Rafferty IRL bt Ayden Senger 5/4;

T Vahlenkamp GER bt S Mwandla 5/3;

Conor Purcell IRL bt P Taberer 4/2;

J Wilson SCO bt B McKenzie GBR 5/4;

E James bt M D’Harcourt FRA 3/2;

M Saulez beat Alex Gleeson IRL 3/2;

D Langley GBR bt Robert Brazill IRL 5/4;

Y Premlall bt L Pownell GBR 2Up.

Second round (Irish matches)

Wilco Nienaber (RSA) v James Sugrue (Mallow);

 Liam Cloete (Magaliespark Country Club) v Ronan Mullarney (Galway GC) 

Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) v Timo Vahlenkamp (RSA);

Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) v James Wilson (SCO)