Dunne to make World Cup debut alongside Lowry
Paul Dunne

Paul Dunne

Paul Dunne will make his debut alongside leading qualifier Shane Lowry in the ISPS HANDA Melbourne World Cup of Golf at The Metropolitan Golf Club in Melbourne from November 21-25.

World No 85 Lowry was the leading available Irish player and he chose Dunne, ranked 91st in the world, as his partner.

Lowry and Graeme McDowell finished ninth behind Denmark in the last edition of the event at Kingston Heath in 2016.

Marc Leishman and Cameron Smith will tee it up for hosts Australia for an event which clashes with Thanksgiving in the US, meaning Kyle Stanley and 2011 winner Matt Kuchar will represent the Americans.

England’s Ian Poulter will make his sixth appearance after being chosen by Tyrrell Hatton — a possible Ryder Cup pairing next week, perhaps — with South Africa’s Branden Grace selected by fellow Presidents Cup veteran and 2011 Masters champion Charl Schwartzel.

Ireland hasn’t won the World Cup since Pádraig Harrington and Paul McGinley triumphed in 1997, though McDowell and Rory McIlroy came close in 2009, when they finished joint runners-up with Sweden behind Italy’s Edoardo and Francesco Molinari.

Ireland's first triumph came 1958, when Harry Bradshaw and Christy O’Connor won the Canada Cup in Mexico.

The 59th staging of the event will see the 56-player field vie for the largest prize-money purse in Australian golf, with $US7 million on offer.

The 72-hole stroke play team format will feature fourball play in the first and third rounds and foursomes in the second and final rounds.

In 2016, Danes Soren Kjeldsen and Thorbjorn Olesen shot a final-round 66 in foursomes at Kingston Heath to win Denmark’s first World Cup of Golf title by four strokes over the United States, China and France.

Denmark currently holds the men's amateur and professional world titles following their victory in the Eisenhower Trophy at Carton House earlier this month.

ISPA HANDA Melbourne World Cup of Golf

Confirmed teams as of 20 September 2018

*Bold denotes first World Cup of Golf appearance

Rank Country Top Player Partner

  1. Australia — Marc Leishman/Cameron Smith

  2. England — Tyrrell Hatton/Ian Poulter

  3. United States — Kyle Stanley/Matt Kuchar

  4. Thailand — Kiradech Aphibarnrat/Prom Meesawat

  5. South Africa — Branden Grace/Charl Schwartzel

  6. Denmark – Thorbjorn Olesen/Soren Kjeldsen

  7. Japan — Satoshi Kodaira/Hideto Tanihara

  8. Korea — Byeong Hun An/Si Woo Kim

  9. China — Haotong Li/Ashun Wu

  10. Canada — Adam Hadwin/Nick Taylor

  11. Scotland — Russell Knox/Martin Laird

  12. Belgium — Thomas Pieters/Thomas Detry

  13. Sweden — Alexander Bjork/Joakim Lagergren

  14. New Zealand — Ryan Fox/Danny Lee

  15. Venezuela — Jhonattan Vegas/Joseph Naffah

  16. Spain — Adrian Otaegui/Jorge Campillo

  17. Ireland — Shane Lowry/Paul Dunne

  18. France — Alexander Levy/Michael Lorenzo-Vera

  19. Austria — Bernd Wiesberger/Matthias Schwab

  20. India — Shubhankar Sharma/Anirban Lahiri

  21. Netherlands — Joost Luiten/Daan Huizing

  22. Finland — Mikko Korhonen/Mikko Ilonen

  23. Mexico — Abraham Ancer/Roberto Diaz

  24. Germany — Martin Kaymer/Maximilian Kieffer

  25. Italy — Andrea Pavan/Renato Paratore

  26. Zimbabwe — Scott Vincent/Benjamin Follett-Smith

  27. Malaysia — Gavin Kyle Green/Ben Leong

  28. *Argentina — Emiliano Grillo (WD)

    *Emiliano Grillo was a late withdrawal. The replacement country and players will be announced in the coming days.