Foster remains on track at Clandeboye

Foster remains on track at Clandeboye
Anna Foster

Anna Foster

Leading qualifier Anna Foster will continue her bid to become 2018 Irish Girls’ Close champion having overcome Ballina's Annabel Greham on the 17th at Clandeboye.

Foster now meets Carnelea’s Rebekah Gardner in the last 16 where Irish Women’s Close Champion Sara Byrne (Douglas) and Internationals Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden), Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle), Aine Donegan (Woodstock), Valerie Clancy (Killarney) and Kate Lanigan (Hermitage) have also progressed from their first-round matches.

Alongside Foster, Emma Fleming and Leah Temple Lang ensured that three Elm Park members have qualified for the last 16.

Fleming impressively saw off her Leinster teammate Jan Browne (Kilkenny) 7&6 and Temple-Lang, who had won the Pat Fletcher Trophy in 2017, clinched her match versus Olivia McClurg (Belvoir Park) on the 15th.

There was just one match needing extra holes which saw Ada Bowler (Lucan) edge out her Interprovincial foursomes partner Chloe O’Connor (Roscommon) on the 19th.

Those beaten in today’s matches will now compete for the Pat Fletcher Trophy (Plate) in a second flight of matchplay.

Round 1 – Thursday 19 July

  1. A Foster beat A Greham 2&1,
  2. R Gardner beat C Griffin 3&2,
  3. L Walsh beat S Hegarty 5&4,
  4. V Clancy beat O Hunt 3&2,
  5. A Donegan beat M O’Hara 2 Holes,
  6. O McClurg lost to L Temple Lang 4&3,
  7. S Byrne beat S McGuinness 5&4,
  8. C O’Connor lost to A Bowler 19th,
  9. C Screene beat N O’Dwyer 2&1,
  10. A Dawson lost to O McCrystal 4&3,
  11. B Coulter beat C Brennan 4&3,
  12. E Fleming 7&6 J Browne,
  13. K Lanigan beat T McMillen 7&5,
  14. T Laverty lost to L Kelly 1 Hole,
  15. G Carr beat F Behan 3&2,
  16. E Thorne lost to K O’Hart 6&5

Championship Matchplay – Friday 20 July

  1. 08:00 A Foster v R Gardner,
  2. 08:10 L Walsh v V Clancy,
  3. 08:20 A Donegan v L Temple Lang,
  4. 08:30 S Byrne v A Bowler,
  5. 08:40 C Screene v Olivia McCrystal,
  6. 08:50 B Coulter v E Fleming,
  7. 09:00 K Lanigan v L Kelly,
  8. 09:10 G Carr v K O’Hart.

Plate Matchplay – Friday 20 July

  1. 09:30 A Greham v C Griffin,
  2. 09:40 S Hegarty v O Hunt,
  3. 09:50 M O’Hara v O McClurg,
  4. 10:00 S McGuinness v C O’Connor,
  5. 10:10 N O’Dwyer v A Dawson,
  6. 10:20 C Brennan v J Browne,
  7. 10:30 T McMillen v T Laverty,
  8. 10:40 F Behan v E Thorne