51 Irish enter Regional Qualifying for The Open

51 Irish enter Regional Qualifying for The Open
County Louth hosts Local Qualifying for The Open on Monday, June 25

County Louth hosts Local Qualifying for The Open on Monday, June 25

Nineteen amateurs are among the 51 Irish players entered for Regional Qualifying for The Open on Monday.

They will be in action at six of the 13 venues across Great Britain and Ireland with 17 of them teeing it up at County Louth Golf Club, which is one of five new venues this year.

While Eoin Leonard goes at Fairhaven and Keith Thompson at Berwick upon Tweed, the rest of the amateurs will be at Baltray — Thomas Mulligan, Jake Whelan, John Hickey, Gerard Dunne, Declan O'Neill, Joe Lyons, Ruairi O'Connor, Max Kennedy, Paraic Connolly, James Sugrue, Robert Brazill, James Fox, Hugh Foley, David Brady, Rory Williamson, Owen Crooks and Aaron Kearney.

They are joined there by professionals David Barry, Tim Rice, Danny Brennan Bernard Quigley, Jasper Marken, Colm Crowley, Eoin Gibbons, Danny Sugrue, Luke Donnelly, Cameron Raymond, Stephen McCarthy, Enda Maguire, Shane Franklin, Jack Hume, Brendan McCarroll, Donal Gleeson, Peter Williamson, William Noble, Richard Weldon, Simon Ward, Kevin LeBlanc, Simon Bryan, Greg Leech, John-Ross Galbraith, Reeve Whitson and Andrew Owens.

A total of 1,250 players will take part and more than 140 will go through to Final Qualifying, being played at Notts (Hollinwell), Prince’s, St Annes Old Links and The Renaissance Club on Tuesday, 3 July. 

The number of places available at each of the 13 venues will be in proportion to the number of players that start at each course.

The Open, Regional Qualifying, Monday, June 25

Click her for all venues — Draw


  1. MURPHY, Darren Harborne Minchinhampton 07:00 
  2. PHELAN, Kevin Mount Juliet Minchinhampton 10:01 
  3. IRWIN, Simon Unattached Minchinhampton 13:40

Sandy Lodge

  1. QUINN, Noel Chartridge Park Sandy Lodge 08:06

County Louth

  1. MULLIGAN, Thomas (A) Laytown & Bettystown County Louth 08:30 
  2. BARRY, David Douglas County Louth 08:41 
  3. RICE, Tim Limerick County Louth 08:41 
  4. WHELAN, Jake (A) Newlands County Louth 08:41 
  5. HICKEY, John (A) Cork County Louth 08:52 
  6. BRENNAN, Daniel Shannon County Louth 08:52 
  7. DUNNE, Gerard (A) County Louth County Louth 08:52 
  8. QUIGLEY, Bernard Tullamore County Louth 09:03 
  9. O'NEILL, Declan (A) Carton House County Louth 09:14 
  10. MARKEN, Jasper Golfclub Hatten County Louth 09:25 
  11. CROWLEY, Colm Pinergy County Louth 09:36 
  12. LYONS, Joe (A) Galway County Louth 09:36 
  13. GIBBONS, Eoin Eoin Gibbons Golf  County Louth 09:47 
  14. SUGRUE, Daniel Dooks Golf Links County Louth 09:47 
  15. O'CONNOR, Ruairi (A) Co Sligo County Louth 09:47 
  16. DONNELLY, Luke Mount Juliet County Louth 09:58 
  17. KENNEDY, Max (A) The Royal Dublin County Louth 09:58 
  18. RAYMOND, Cameron Unattached County Louth 09:58 
  19. O'ROURKE, Conor Unattached  County Louth 10:25 
  20. MCCARTHY, Stephen Black Bush County Louth 10:36 
  21. MAGUIRE, Enda County Louth County Louth  10:36 
  22. CONNOLLY, Paraic (A) Clontarf Golf Club County Louth  10:36 
  23. FRANKLIN, Shane Cregmore Park County Louth 10:47 
  24. SUGRUE, James (A) Mallow County Louth 10:47 
  25. BRAZILL, Robert (A) Naas County Louth 10:47 
  26. HUME, Jack Naas County Louth 10:58 
  27. MCCARROLL, Brendan West Cliffs Golf Links County Louth 10:58 
  28. GLEESON, Donal Old Conna County Louth 10:58 
  29. FOX, James (A) Portmarnock County Louth 11:09 
  30. WILLIAMSON, Peter Woodcote Park County Louth 11:20 
  31. NOBLE, William County Cavan County Louth 11:31 
  32. WELDON, Richard Black Bush County Louth 11:31 
  33. WARD, Simon Belvoir Park County Louth 11:42 
  34. FOLEY, Hugh (A) The Royal Dublin County Louth 11:42 
  35. BRADY, David (A) County Sligo County Louth 11:42 
  36. LEBLANC, Kevin The Island County Louth 11:53 
  37. BRYAN, Simon Druids Heath County Louth 11:53 
  38. LEECH, Gregory Golfanlage Schloss Nippenburg County Louth 11:53
  39. GALBRAITH, John-Ross Whitehead County Louth 08:30 
  40. WHITSON, Reeve Royal County Down County Louth 09:25 
  41. WILLIAMSON, Rory (A) Holywood County Louth 09:36 
  42. OWENS, Andrew Ballyclare County Louth 10:09 
  43. CROOKS, Owen (A) Bushfoot County Louth 10:25 
  44. KEARNEY, Aaron (A) Castlerock County Louth 11:31 


  1. WILSON, Scott St Andrews Links Trust Panmure 09:36 


  1. LEONARD, Eoin (A) Wentworth  Fairhaven 10:34

Berwick upon Tweed

  1. THOMPSON, Keith (A) Prestonfield Berwick upon Tweed (Goswick) 11:09