Smyth and Kelly beaten in Spanish Seniors playoff
Holland's Douglas Williams and England's Stephen East

Holland's Douglas Williams and England's Stephen East

Holland's Douglas Williams and England's Stephen East claimed the Spanish International Pairs title when they beat Hugh Smyth and Maurice Kelly in a playoff at El Saler on Sunday.

Both teams finished tied on 146 after 36 holes last Thursday but were unable to play off until after the conclusion of the Spanish Seniors Amateur Open on Sunday.

The playoff eventually took place on the 16th hole and it was William and East who emerged victorious, carding a par to a bogey by the Irish duo to claim the title, which was played in a greensomes format.

In the individual event, Spain's Ignacio González became the first home winner since 2011 when he closed with a 77 to win by two strokes on seven-over 223 from Norway's Tore Sviland and Italy's Gianluca Bolla in windy conditions.

Individual winner Ignacio González

Individual winner Ignacio González

The Madrid golfer shot the only sub-par round of the week in Saturday's second round — a two-under 70 — to take a two-stroke lead over Bolla and first-round leader Pierre Loumaigne of France before holding on.

Douglas' Karl Bornemann was the best of the Irish, carding rounds of 80, 78 and 77 to tie for 11th on 235.

Smyth was joint 16th on 236 (78 77 81) with George Wilson — who holed a nine-iron for a hole in one on the ninth on the second day — tied 20th on 238 (77 80 81).

Kelly was tied 36th on 243 (79 82 82) with Adrian Morrow 41st on 244 (79 85 80 ) and Mick Ahern 44th on 246 (79 83 84).

Spanish Seniors Amateur Open, El Saler (Par 72)

FINAL - Detailed scores

1.- Ignacio González (ESP) 223 (76+70+77)

2.- Tore Sviland (NOR) 225 (76+74+75)

+.- Gianluca Bolla (ITA) 225 (76+72+77)

11.- Karl Bornemann (IRL) 235 (80+78+77) 

Spanish Senior International Pairs

Detailed scores

146 Douglas Williams (Ned) and Stephen East (Eng) 73 73; Hugh Smyth and Maurice Kelly (Ireland) 72 74.

Williams and East beat  Smyth and Kelly at the first extra hole

147 David Hannis (Eng) and George Smith (Irl) 147

148 Tore Sviland (Nor) and Claes Kinell (Swe) 74 74; Adrian Morrow (Irl) and Mats Andersson (Swe) 70 78.