Thompson cruises into last 16 at Mallow
Rachel Thompson. Picture:  Pat Cashman Photography

Rachel Thompson. Picture: Pat Cashman Photography

Leading qualifier Rachel Thompson safely negotiated her way into the last 16 at the Irish Girls’ Close Championship with a 7&5 win over Belvoir Park’s Olivia McClurg at Mallow.

She now faces another Ulster girl in Royal Portush's Emma Forbes, who won by two holes against Donabate's Nicole McGavisk.

Castlewarden International Lauren Walsh had to dig deep to beat Killeen's Fiona Behan. who made three birdies on the back nine before falling to a par at the 18th.

Kirkistown Castle's Beth Coulter beat Douglas' Sara Byrne 5&4 as Munster duo Valerie Clancy (Killarney) and Mairead Martin (Kanturk) also made it safely into the last 16 and will face Kate Dwyer (Rossmore) and Ada Bowler (Lucan) respectively.

The first round losers go on to play in the Plate flight which concludes alongside the Championship matches on Saturday afternoon.

The stableford consolation competition for the May Fitzgibbon Trophy was won by Knock's Katie Poots with 37 points.

Irish Girls' Amateur Close Championship, Mallow

Round 1 – Thursday 20 July

  1. Rachel Thompson (Cork) beat Olivia McClurg (Belvoir Park) 7&5
  2. Emma Forbes (Royal Portrush) beat Nicole McGavisk (Donabate) 2 holes
  3. Georgia Carr (Milltown) beat Katie Keenan (Kilkenny) 2&1
  4. Anna Foster (Elm Park) beat Niamh O’Dwyer (Lahinch) 4&3
  5. Kate Lanigan (Hermitage) beat Emily Walsh (Limerick) 4&3
  6. Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo) beat Chloe O’Connor (Roscommon) 3&2
  7. Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden) beat Fiona Behan (Killeen) 1 hole
  8. Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle) beat Sara Byrne (Douglas) 5&4
  9. Valerie Clancy (Killarney) beat Shannon Hegarty (Ennis) 3&1
  10. Kate Dwyer (Rossmore) beat Leah Temple Lang (Elm Park) 5&4
  11. Katie O’Hart (Arklow) lost to Canice Screen (Hermitage) 1 hole
  12. Ellen O’Gorman (Milltown) beat Anna Dawson (Tramore) 1 hole
  13. Mairead Martin (Kanturk) beat Kaelin O’Keeffe (Tralee) 6&5
  14. Ada Bowler (Lucan) beat Jan Browne (Kilkenny) 2&1
  15. Maeve Cummins (Lurgan) beat Tegan Gordon (Laytown & Bettystown) 8&7
  16. Nicole Joyce Moreno (Spain) beat Anna McVicker (Belvoir Park) 3&2

Championship Last 16 – Friday 21 July

  1. 08:00 Rachel Thompson v. Emma Forbes
  2. 08:10 Georgia Carr v Anna Foster
  3. 08:20 Kate Lanigan v Maeve Rooney
  4. 08:30 Lauren Walsh v Beth Coulter
  5. 08:40 Valerie Clancy v Kate Dwyer
  6. 08:50 Canice Screen v Ellen O’Gorman
  7. 09:00 Mairead Martin v Ada Bowler
  8. 09:10 Maeve Cummins v Nicole Joyce Moreno

Plate – Round 1 – Friday 21 July

  1. 09:20 Olivia McClurg v Nicole McGavisk
  2. 09:30 Katie Keenan v Niamh O’Dwyer
  3. 09:40 Emily Walsh v Chloe O’Connor
  4. 09:50 Fiona Behan v Sara Byrne
  5. 10:00 Katie O’Hart v Anna Dawson
  6. 10:10 Kaelin O’Keeffe v Jan Browne
  7. 10:20 Tegan Gordon v. Anna McVicker