Maria Dunne and Julie McCarthy set for European Team Championships
Maria Dunne. Picture: Jenny Matthew/ Pat Cashman Photography

Maria Dunne. Picture: Jenny Matthew/Pat Cashman Photography

Maria Dunne may not get a Vagliano Trophy call-up when the GB& I team is named on Thursday, but the newly crowned Irish Women's Open Stroke Play champion has achieved one of her goals this year by making the Ireland team for July's European Amateur Team Championship in Portugal.

The Skerries star has been named in Captain Danielle McVeigh's six-strong side for the trip to Montado from July 11–15

Curtis Cup teammate Olivia Mehaffey from Royal County Down Ladies and Arizona State University, Lisburn's Paula Grant, Castletroy's Chloe Ryan and Lahinch's Sinead Sexton return to duty and will be joined by Forrest Little's Julie McCarthy, who will be making her Senior International debut.

Gemma Butler will bring a strong team to the European Girls’ Team Championships at St. Laurence in Finland from July 11 – 15 with French U18 Champion Annabel Wilson from Lurgan, Killarney's Valerie Clancy, Kanturk's Mairead Martin and Cork's Rachel Thompson returning from last year's side.

They will be joined by Castlewarden's Lauren Walsh, who holed the winning put at the Girls’ Home International matches on her Irish debut in last year and Douglas' Sara Byrne, who was third in the prestigious Fairhaven Trophy earlier this month. 

“Myself and Chris are really looking forward to heading with this team to Finland in July,” said Captain Butler. 

“The girls have had some fantastic results so far this year, and after winning the second flight at the 2016 European Championships, we are excited to build on that result this time around.”

Byrne and Wilson will also travel to Oslo for the European Young Masters from July 27-29.

Olivia Mehaffey. Picture:  Pat Cashman

Olivia Mehaffey. Picture: Pat Cashman

Irish Women’s European Team Championship, Montado, Portugal, July 11 – 15

  • Maria Dunne (Skerries)
  • Paula Grant (Lisburn)
  • Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little)
  • Olivia Mehaffey (Royal County Down Ladies)
  • Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
  • Sinead Sexton (Lahinch)
  1. Non-Travelling Reserve: Ciara Casey (Hermitage)
  • Team Captain: Danielle McVeigh (Royal County Down Ladies)
  • Team Coach: Donal Scott

Irish Girls’ European Team Championship, St. Laurence, Finland, July 11 – 15

  • Sara Byrne (Douglas)
  • Valerie Clancy (Killarney)
  • Mairead Martin (Kanturk)
  • Rachel Thompson (Cork)
  • Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
  • Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)
  1. Non-Travelling Reserve: Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)

  • Team Captain: Gemma Butler (Birr)
  • Team Coach: Chris Jelly

European Young Masters Team, Oslo, Norway (July 27 – 29)

  • Sara Byrne (Douglas)
  • Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Team Manager: Irene Poynton (The Island)