Grehan leads six-strong GUI challenge for Lytham Trophy
Stuart Grehan. Picture: Golffile/GUI

Stuart Grehan. Picture: Golffile/GUI

Tullamore and Maynooth's Stuart Grehan is one of six players selected by the Golfing Union of Ireland to compete at this year’s Lytham Trophy from May 5-7.

Ireland’s highest ranked player at 53rd in the World Amateur Golf ranking, he was named in the Great Britain & Ireland squad earlier this year and he will join fellow Walker Cup hopefuls Alex Gleeson (Castle), Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint) and Conor O’Rourke (Naas) at Royal Lytham and St Anne’s.

One of the biggest events of the season, the Lytham Trophy attracts a strong international field each year with Knock’s Colin Fairweather and Whitehead’s John Ross Galbraith also in the official GUI party.

Previous Irish winners of the Lytham Trophy include Tom Craddock (1969), Martin Sludds (1982) and Paul Cutler (2009).

The squad will be accompanied to the Lytham Trophy by team manager Niall MacSweeney (Athenry).

GUI Squad – Lytham Trophy, 5-7 May

  • Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint)
  • Colin Fairweather (Knock)
  • John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead)
  • Alex Gleeson (Castle/UCD)
  • Stuart Grehan (Tullamore/MU)
  • Conor O’Rourke (Naas)