Gone with the wind at St Andrews - Sharvin clear as round two abandoned

Cormac Sharvin will take a one-stroke lead into the last two rounds of the St Andrews Links Trophy after the second round on the Jubilee was abandoned due to high winds. 

Winds gusting over 50 mph made play impossible on the Jubilee Links and a decision was taken to cut the field to those who had shot 72 or better on the same track on Friday.

The decision is good news for Ardglass star Sharvin, who is hoping to cement his claim to a Walker Cup place with a first Irish win in the event since Alan Dunbar in 2009.

His opening 65 left him a shot clear of the field and he will be joined for the last two rounds over the Old Course by John Ross Galbraith, Dermot McElroy, Jack Hume, Richard Bridges, Alex Gleeson, Colm Campbell and Robin Dawson.

The other six Irish entrants — Eugene Smith (73), Gary Hurley (73), Gavin Moynihan (74), Alexander Wilson (74), Paul McBride (77) and Stuart Grehan (77) — were eliminated.

St Andrews Links Trophy 

Detailed scores

65 Cormac Sharvin (Ireland)

66 Connor Syme (Drumoig Golf Club), Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock (Barassie) Golf Club)

67 John-Ross Galbraith (Ireland)

68 Mario Galiano (Spain)

69 Michele Cea (Italy), Greig Marchbank (Thornhill Golf Club), Richard Mansell (Beau Desert Golf Club), Cedric Van Wassenhove (Belgium), Paul Kinnear (Formby Golf Club)

70 Dermot McElroy (Ireland), Antonio Murdaca (Australia), Gianmaria Rean Trinchero (Italy), Edgar Catherine (France), Jack Hume (Ireland), Richard James (Aberystwyth Golf Club), Liam Johnston (Dumfries & County Golf Club), Markus Maukner (Austria), Craig Howie (Peebles Golf Club), Daniel Wasteney (Lindrick Golf Club), Peter Launer Baek (Denmark), Nick Marsh (Huddersfield Golf Club)

71 Mathias Eggenberger (Switzerland), Kiran Day (Australia), Ben Eccles (Australia), Ben Wall (Hayling Golf Club), Euan Walker (Kilmarnock (Barassie) Golf Club), Daniel Young (Craigie Hill Golf Club), Lucas Herbert (Australia), Linus Vaisanen (Finland), Federico Zucchetti (Italy), Alfie Plant (Sundridge Park Golf Club), Filippo Campigli (Italy), Richard Bridges (Ireland), Thomas Perrot (France), Alexandre Daydou (France), Ivan Cantero (Spain)

72 Maxence De Craecker (Belgium), Mans Berglund (Sweden), Ryan Chisnall (New Zealand), Jamie Bower (Meltham Golf Club), Craig Ross (Kirkhill Golf Club), Luke Johnson (Kings Lynn Golf Club), Alex Gleeson (Ireland), Zach Galliford (Borth & Ynyslas Golf Club), Colm Campbell (Ireland), Xabier Gorospe (Spain), Robin Dawson (Ireland), Adriá Arnaus (Spain), Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park Golf Club), Ashley Chesters (Hawkstone Park Golf Club), Emil Sogaard (Denmark), Jimmy Mullen (Royal North Devon Golf Club), Zach Murray (Australia), Tom Gandy (Rowany Golf Club), Robert MacIntyre (Glencruitten Golf Club), Tomasz Anderson (Brocket Hall Golf Club), Robbie van West (Netherlands), Grant Forrest (Craigielaw Golf Club), Sean Towndrow (Southport & Ainsdale Golf Club), Romain Langasque (France)