Irish Amateur Close draw - absentees a talking point

Irish Amateur Close draw - absentees a talking point

Seapoint is in perfect condition for the Irish Amateur Close

Holder Cormac Sharvin is one of 11 top Irish players who've opted to play in the St Andrews Links Trophy rather than the AIG sponsored Irish Amateur Close Championship, which begins at Seapoint tomorrow.

But despite the absence of Sharvin, newly crowned world No 10 Gavin Moynihan, West of Ireland champion Jack Hume, Reeve Whitson, Rory McNamara, Dermot McElroy, Robbie Cannon, Gary Hurley, Eugene Smith, Richard O'Donovan and Paul Dunne, a strong field will still tee it up at the Termonfeckin links this weekend.

As usual, someone will be crowned Irish Amateur Close champion next Wednesday.

The final field is 143 rather than 144 after the GUI ran out of reserves. Local players offered to fill the blank spot in the field but could not be accepted as they had not entered the Championship.

Irish Amateur Close Championship (sponsored by AIG), Seapoint Golf Links


1st tee/10th tee

  • (0800/1304) Alex McCloy (Ballymena), Martin Hynes (Athenry) Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint)
  • (0810/1315) Ruairi O'Connor (Co Sligo) David Byrne (Athenry) Cathal Butler (Kinsale)
  • (0821/1325) Damien McDonough (Galway) Ross Mohan (The Island) Keith Murphy (Charlesland)
  • (0831/1336) Neil Cullen (Beaverstown) Ryan O'Doherty (Enniscrone) James Kelly (Elm Park)
  • (0842/1346) Stephen Kinch (Hollystown) Peter McKeever (Castle) Rory Williamson (Holywood)
  • (0852/1357) Conor Coyne (Youghal) Marc Nolan (Delgany) Conor Purcell (Portmarnock)
  • (0903/1407) Ian Spillane (Mallow) Colum Kenny (Curragh) Colm Crowley (Woodbrook)
  • (0913/1418) Stuart Bleakley (Shandon Park) Bernard Bermingham (Carton House) Darragh Hogan (Killeen Castle)
  • (0924/1428) Kieran Lynch (Skibbereen) Barry Fennelly (Royal Dublin) Tommy O'Driscoll (Ring Of Kerry)
  • (0934/1439) Gary McGrane (Royal Dublin) Conor Rankin (Royal Portrush) Stephen Watts (Cairndhu)
  • (0945/1449) Brian Ronan (Co Louth), Craig Melvin (Corrstown) Harry McHugh (Skerries)
  • (0955/1500) Nigel Beirth (Co Louth) Keagan Cummings (Elm Park) Ger Cohen (Beaverstown)
  • (1304/0800) Stephen Loftus (Lahinch) Ian Lynch (Rosslare) Greg Carew (Edenderry)
  • (1315/0810) Ross McKeever (Castle) James Monaghan (Royal Dublin) Eoghan O'Donovan (Craddockstown)
  • (1325/0821) Darragh Conlon (Athenry) Alan Lowry (Esker Hills) Cian Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown)
  • (1336/0831) Jonathan Gourley (Shandon Park) Robbie Pierse (Grange) Eamonn O’Driscoll (Ring of Kerry)
  • (1346/0842) Kevin Stack (Dungarvan) Paul Cox (Strandhill) Ronan Mullarney (Galway)
  • (1357/0852) Richard Knightly (Royal Dublin) Paraic Connolly (Killeen Castle) Greg Mungovan (Headfort)
  • (1407/0903) John Garvey (Seapoint) Gerard Dunne (Co Louth) Ben Best (Rathmore)
  • (1418/0913) Declan Reidy (Co Sligo) John McGinn (Laytown & Bettystown) Alexander Wilson (Portmarnock)
  • (1428/0924) Ryan Symington (Lisburn) Eoghan Murphy (Cork) Sean Maloney (Dunmurry Springs)
  • (1439/0934) Alex Gleeson (Castle) Aaron Grant (Dundalk) Shaun Carter (Stackstown)
  • (1449/0945) Matthew McClean (Balmoral) Eanna Griffin (Waterford) Gareth Bohill (Co Louth)
  • (1500/0955) Shaun O'Connor (Luttrellstown Castle) Andrew Magee (Powerscourt) Ian O'Flynn (Cork)

10th tee/ 1st tee

  • (0800/1304) Stephen Walsh (Portmarnock) Joe Lyons (Galway) Declan Loftus ((Castlebar)
  • (0810/1315) Michael Sinclair (Knock) Daniel Brennan (Shannon) Mark Morrissey (Mount Wolseley)
  • (0821/1325) John Greene (Portmarnock) Gary Collins (Rosslare) Shane McGlynn (Carton House)
  • (0831/1336) Eoghan McKeever (Castle) Gary O'Flaherty (Cork) Barry Anderson (Royal Dublin)
  • (0842/1346) Gerard MacNamara (Portmarnock) Alan Thomas (Dungarvan) Colin Fairweather (Knock)
  • (0852/1357) Kevin Le Blanc (The Island) Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene) Pat Murray (Limerick)
  • (0903/1407) Stuart Grehan (Tullamore) Edward Kennedy (Woodbrook) Ciaran Smyth (Greenore)
  • (0913/1418) William Russell (Clandeboye) Daniel Cosgrove (Kilcock)
  • (0924/1428) Stephen Healy (Claremorris) Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock) Gary McDermott (Carton House)
  • (0934/1439) Ian O'Rourke (Royal Dublin) Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint) Richard Bridges (Stackstown)
  • (0945/1449) Daniel Holland (Castle) Louis O’Hara (Athenry) Ryan McKinstry (Cairndhu)
  • (0955/1500) Marc Boucher (Carton House) Stephen Brady (Co Sligo) Jack Pierse (Portmarnock)
  • (1304/0800) Brian O'Reilly (Athenry) Bob Loftus (Lahinch) Paul Burke (Mullingar)
  • (1315/0810) Sean Denny (Castleblayney) Liam Harnett (Milltown) Liam Hutchinson (Royal Dublin)
  • (1325/0821) Sean Alley (Co. Tipperary) Conor McCaughey (Dungannon) Declan Kelly (Hermitage)
  • (1336/0831) Chris Tormey (Corballis) Ally Purdy (Ballyclare) Padraic O'Brien (Co Louth)
  • (1346/0842) Ruairi Kennelly (Portmarnock) Thomas Fay (Rush) Daniel Coyle (Co Louth)
  • (1357/0852) Seamus Cullen (Slieve Russell) John Hickey (Cork) David Brady (Co Sligo)
  • (1407/0903) William Hanna (Kilkeel) Paul Coughlan (Moate) Shane Hogan (Nenagh)
  • (1418/0913) Steffan O'Hara (Co Sligo) Stephen McCarthy (Black Bush) Rory O'Connor (Strandhill)
  • (1428/0924) Paul Reavey (Warrenpoint) Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) David Carey (Carton House)
  • (1439/0934) Jamie Richardson (Royal Portrush) Daniel O'Connor (Athlone) Gareth Lappin (Belvoir Park)
  • (1449/0945) Rowan Lester (Hermitage) John-Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) Keith Egan (Carton House)
  • (1500/0955) Eoin Arthurs (Forrest Little) James Fox (Portmarnock) Thomas O'Connor (Athlone).