Mark CollinsKilleen Castle’s Mark Collins took the first round lead in the Munster Mid-Amateur with a 71. Picture: Pat CashmanKilleen Castle’s Mark Collins fired a one under par 71 to take a one stroke lead over Portmarnock’s David Kelleher and former West of Ireland champion Joe Lyons of Galway into today’s second round of the Munster Mid-Amateur Championship at Limerick.

Greystones’ Alan Condren was two shots back in solo third after a 73 with local favourite, international Pat Murray, tied for fifth with Castletroy’s Stephen Moloney, Dromoland’s Tony Cleary and fellow Limerick player Cathal Walsh after a 74.

Munster Mid-Amateur Championship, Limerick GC  (Par 72)
Rd 1:

71 M Collins (Killeen Castle)

72 D Kelleher (Portmarnock), J Lyons (Galway)

73 A Condren (Greystones)

74 C Walsh (Limerick), P Murray (Limerick), S Moloney (Castletroy), T Cleary (Dromoland)

75 D Duggan (The Links Portmarnock), G Vaughan (Limerick), K Condren (Greystones), J O’Brien (Castlemartyr), D McCarthy (Bandon), G O’Flaherty (Cork)

76 J Crangle (FortWilliam), T McClements (Holywood), P Hennessy (Lahinch), A Thomas (Dungarvan), P Sheehan (Ballybunion), T Hogan (Headfort), D Morris (Limerick), M Hogan (Westmanstown), P Flynn (Tramore), J Touhy (Limerick)

77 S Underwood (Co. Sligo), D O’Donovan (Charleville), J Carvill (Banbridge), B Forsyth (Corballis Links)

78 F O’Mahony (Limerick), S Murray (Tipperary), K Canavan (Corballis Links), G Hutchinson (Clandeboye), R Williams (Westmanstown), J Fitzgerald (Limerick), J Reynolds (Dungarvan), A Lonergan (Cahir Park), A Brown (The Heath)

79 D McGrath (Tuam), M Whelan (East Clare), J Kavanagh (Castletroy), E Costelloe (Rathbane), C O’Driscoll (Cahir Park), N duggan (Dromoland), M Coleman (Limerick)

80 R Connolly (Rathsallagh), N O’Riordan (East Cork), T Healy (Muskerry), G Reeves (Limerick), C McIlroy (Holywood), R Cross (Enniscrone), N O’Carroll (Powerscourt)

81 D Gallagher (Limerick), C Leonard (Mitchelstown), M Eaton (Holywood), A Murphy (Limerick), R cotter (East Cork), P Bevins (Carlow), I Smyth (Clandeboye), D Cullen (Carton House), A Norrby (Balmoral), D O’Donovan (Muskerry)

82 L Halpin (Shannon), B Harte (Muskerry), D Lally (Mullingar), F harrold (Castletroy)

83 A Walsh (Limerick), J Keane (Tuam), M Galvin (Limerick), J O’Riordan (Mitchelstown), M Burke (Galway)

84 L Harte (Muskerry), K Maher (Limerick), D O’Brien (Limerick), F Costelloe (Castletroy), A Purcell (Adare)

85 W O’Brien (East Clare), J Hayes (Limerick), M Jacob (The Royal Dublin)

86 B O’Riordan (Carrick-on-Shannon), D Curtin (Doneraile), B O’Donoghue (Castletroy), B Quirke (Cobh), E Dorney (Monkstown)

87 R Cummins (Limerick)

88 D Gleeson (Limerick)

90 M Fitzgerald (Limerick)