Michael Quirke. pictured at Carton House during the 2010 Irish Senior Open on the European Senior Tour, made a fine start to the Irish Seniors Amateur Open at Malone. Doneraile’s Michael Quirke defied a swirling breeze and took advantage of glorious sunshine to open with a spectacular one-under 70 and lead the Irish Seniors Amateur Open Championship by three shots at Malone Golf Club.

Scotland’s Keith Bruce lies in solo second after a 73, one shot ahead of his playing partner, Birr’s Billy Donlon, who is tied for third on 74 with Ronnie Berry (Rossmore) and Tom Tyrell (The Heath).

Defending champion Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock) has much work to do in today’s second round after an opening 80 leaves him 10 shots off the pace.

Irish Seniors Amateur Open

Malone Golf Club

First Round Scores

70 M Quirke (Doneraile)

73 K Bruce (Scotland)

74 B Donlon (Birr), R Berry (Rossmore), T Tyrrell (The Heath)

75 B Hargraves (USA), T Patterson (England)

76 R Brooker (Skerries), A Lilley (Ballyclare), M Kelly (Killeen), R Sharp (Mourne), B

Campbell (England), G McGimpsey (Bangor), M Eager (Lucan), A Pierse (Tipperary)

77 D Conway (Portmarnock), P Graham (England), B Stewart (Scotland), A Stracey (England), J Carroll (Bandon)

78 A McLure (England), B Brennan (Malone), B Grieve (Scotland), H Mackeown (Portmarnock), S Fawcett (England), D O’Donovan (Bandon), R McDowell (Royal Belfast), T Goode (Lucan), T Cleary (Cork), D Lane (England), D Morris (Limerick), D Murphy (Scotland), T Gray (Jersey)

79 M Coote (Tralee), R Jordan (USA), J Sutton (Isle of Man), E McMenamin (Ballybofey & Stranorlar), B O’Malley (The Royal Dublin), D Cameron (England), N Patterson (Milltown), J Cullen (Esker Hills), F Jules (USA), P Comerford (Corrstown)

80 B McDonnell (K Club), R Timlin (Galway), J Johnston (USA), J Gilbert (Malone), I Smyth (Clandeboye), I Southgate (England), G Finn (Cork), N Finnegan (Gort), A Morrow (Portmarnock), A Carman (England)

81 L MacNamara (Rosslare), M Ahern (Skerries), M Temple (USA), M Darcy (Oughterard), B Kissock

(Bangor), L Troy (Thurles), B Downing (England), M Martin (Clandeboye), H Smyth (Mourne), D Corcoran (Thurles), R Sloan (Carnalea), S McParland (Greenore), N Lavin (The Royal Dublin), J Ambridge (England)

82 E Crawford (Mourne), G MacDonald (Scotland), V Smyth (Co. Louth), K Stevenson (Warrenpoint), J Dempsey (Curragh), A Brewer (England), J Kinloch (Scotland), R Fitzgerald (Tramore), T Hayes (K Club), J Mitchell (Tramore), W Miscampbell (Malone), G Parkhill (Larne), T Lilly (Slade Valley)

83 D Kempner (USA), S Pond (England), P O’Kane (USA), J Malone (USA), L Gort (Isle of Man), K O’Mahony (Galway), T Brown (England), K Lapsley (Dunfanaghy), J Verner (Clandeboye)

84 A Campbell (Massereene), D Cunningham (Royal Belfast), T Walinski (USA), B McCarroll (North West), A Donkersley (England), B Mills (Clandeboye), G Rees (Wales), N Mannion (Dun Laoghaire), F Hansen (Denmark), A Smith (Blainroe), J O’Grady (K Club), S Hosty (Galway)

85 S Sander (USA), R Cotter (Delgany), J Browne (Belvoir

Park), B Mitchell (Scotland), D McCart (Scotland), B Edgar (Scotland), P Hautz (Delgany)

86 M Sauter (Germany), I Brown (Castleblayney), S Jeffers (Isle of Man), P Lynch (Slade Valley), D Weekes (Dunmurry), D McHugh (Douglas)

87 K Murray (Tramore), N O’Byrne (England), B Saathoff (USA), J Paton (Scotland), I Stewart (Scotland), I Jeen (Scotland)

88 N Woods (Bangor), P Kinloch (Scotland)

89 J Armstrong (Greenisland), P Cooley (Portstewart), M Donohue (Portumna)

90 J Monahan (USA)

93 B McCarroll (Ballyliffin)

96 S Lynch (England)

97 J Hansen (Denmark)

NR P McGarvey (England)

RTD G Mellerick (Fota Island)

DQ D Noone (Balbriggan)

CSS 74: (Reduction Only)