East of Ireand champion Chris Selfridge during last year’s three hole play-off with Nicky Grant. Photo Jenny Matthews/www.golffile.ieThe handicap cut off for the East of Ireland Championship fell at a record low of 0.2.

Click here for the draw

While Walker Cup hopefuls such as Spanish Amateur champion Reeve Whitson and former East winner Richie O’Donovan will tee it up in the clashing Scottish Amateur Open Strokeplay at Southerness alongside Dermot McElroy (Rory McNamara is stil undecided between Baltray and Scotland), Leinster Golf’s flagship event has still attracted a top class field for the June bank holiday weekend.

The Lyons Cup, which is presented to the winner of the East of Ireland Amateur Open. This year’s draw includes defending champion Chris Selfridge from Moyola Park, recently crowned Irish Open champion Robbie Cannon of Balbriggan and 2012 West of Ireland champion Harry Diamond frim Belvoir Park.   

A field of 156 will complete 36 holes over Saturday and Sunday June 1 and 2 with the 51 competitors returning the lowest gross scores qualifying for the final 36 holes on Monday, June 3. 

Other in-form players gunning for glory will be last weekend’s winner of the Mullingar Scratch Cup, Daniel Holland (Castle), Leinster Youths winner Gary Collins (Rosslare) and 17-year old Jack Walsh (Castle), the Munster Youths champion.

The Championship dates to 1941 and the inaugural winner was the late JB Carr, the first Irishman to enter the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Past winners of the East of Ireland Amateur Open Championship

In addition to the main prizes for the Championship, a medal will be presented to the leading Leinster player who returns the lowest 72 hole gross score in conjunction with Leinster Golf Centenary celebrations.

East of Ireland draw 2013