No heavy metal as McGeady and Cutler leave it late
Mick McGeady finished with a 66 to share fourth on the Europro Tour. Picture Photo Eoin Clarke/

Mick McGeady finished with a 66 to share fourth on the Europro Tour. Picture Photo Eoin Clarke/

Mick McGeady and Paul Cutler finished in style but came up two shots adrift as James Hepworth won the Astbury Hall Classic after a dramatic three-way play-off.

Hepworth beat Elliot Saltman and David Horsey at the first extra hole when he hit his tee shot to two feeton the par-three 18th before sinking the birdie putt to claim the £10,000 winner’s cheque at Astbury Hall - the Shropshire brainchild of Judas Priest guitarist KK Downing.


Hepworth, Saltman and European Tour regular Horsey had finished the 54-hole event six under par to force the play-off with McGeady four under 66 and Cutler’s 67 leaving them tied for fourth on four under.

Both finished in style with McGeady picking up birdies at the 15th, 16th and 17th as Cutler birdied the last two in a four under back nine.

“I hit the tee shot well on the play off, it ended up pretty close and I managed to sneak it in,” said Hepworth.

“David’s record speaks for itself, and Elliot’s too. He played a great bunker shot in the play off, it was incredible. I am really pleased to have won.”

The Irish pair picked up £1,125 (€1,332) while Limerick’s Tim Rice earned £475 (€563) aftera 68 lef thim tied for 13th on one under.

Mark Staunton (74) was 39th and Niall Kearney (73) took 42nd on three and four over respectively. Cian Curley (74) finished 44th on five over.


On the Alps Tour, defending champion Brendan McCarroll shot a four under 68 to share 10th place, three shots behind the leaders in the Gosser Open (presented by Martin Wiegele) in Austria.

Mike Kelly shares 29th after a two under 70 with Birr’s Stephen Grant back in 115th on four over after a disappointing 76 at GC Erzherzog Johann.


Spain’s Jesus Legarrea shot 65 to lead alongside Italians Mattia Miloro and Filippe Bergamaschi,  one stroke clear of tournament sponsor Martin Wiegele and Alps Tour Order of Merit leader, England’s Andrew Cooley.