Laytown and Bettystown look to reignite Scratch Cup glory days
The 14th at Laytown and Bettystown

The 14th at Laytown and Bettystown

Finding a date in the packed amateur calendar is a major headache for all these days but Laytown and Bettystown is determined to rebuild its Senior Scratch Cup and recapture the glory days when the likes of Des and Val Smyth, Declan Branigan, Barry Reddan and Mark Gannon formed a golden generation of east coast golfing stars.

On Sunday May 5, top amateurs from all over Ireland will descend on the beautiful Co Meath links for a 36-hole battle. And while it clashes with the Lucan Senior Scratch Cup, the Munster Strokeplay and the Lytham Trophy, it offer the cream of the northeast a chance to play the course before the Barton Shield Provincial qualifiers on May 25-26.

Galway’s Eddie McCormack, the 2001 champion, will be back to try and win the title for a second time against the likes of Forrest Little’s Eoin Arthurs and a host of up and coming stars.

Laytown & Bettystown Golf Club Senior Scratch Cup

  • 36 Holes Shotgun Start 9am & 2pm
  • Sunday 5th May, 2013
  • Handicap limit: 3
  • Entry is restricted to a maximum of 75 players
  • Gross Prizes 1st – 10th
  • 1st Overall Nett
  • €200 prize for new course record on the day
  • Entry Fee €35 (soup & sandwiches included)
  • Closing date Wednesday 1st May at 4.30pm
  • To book phone the Office on (041) 9827170 Ext. 1
  • GUI cards must be produced on the day

The sixth at Laytown and BettystownPast winners 1971 - 2012

2012 Richard Bridges Stackstown

2011 Stephen Barry Laytown & Bettystown

2010 Jeff Hopkins Skerries

2009 Russell Durnin Laytown & Bettystown

2008 Jim Carvill Warrenpoint

2007 Joe Moore Laytown & Bettystown

2006 Alan Condren Greystones

2005 Rory Leonard Banbridge

2004 Adrian Brogan Forrest Little

2003 Eoin O’Sullivan Island

2002 Adrian Morrow Portmarnock

2001 Eddie McCormack Slieve Russell

2000 Michael McGinley Grange

1999 Barry V Reddan Co Louth

1998 JP Fitzgerald Co Louth

1997 N/A

1996 Declan Moran Island

1995 Paul Bray Hermitage

1994 John P Gannon Co Louth

1993 Mark Gannon Balbriggan

1992 Mark Gannon Balbriggan

1991 Denis White Moate

1990 Frank Gannon Co Louth

1989 Tony Smith Island

1988 John Hutchinson Royal Dublin

1987 Finbarr Ronan Co Louth

1986 Finbarr Ronan Co Louth

1985 Padraig Hogan Elm Park

1984 Barry V Reddan Co Louth

1983 Peter Rogers Dundalk

1982 Declan Branigan Laytown & Bettystown

1981 Val Smyth Laytown & Bettystown

1980 Declan Branigan Laytown & Bettystown

1979 Kevin F Garvey Co Louth

1978 Barry V Reddan Co Louth

1977 JJ Clynch Laytown & Bettystown

1976 John M Gannon Co Louth

1975 Richie McDonnell Laytown & Bettystown

1974 Paddy Caul Malahide

1973 Mark Gannon Co Louth

1972 Des Smyth Laytown & Bettystown

1971 Mark Gannon Co Louth 

For more information about Laytown and Bettystown, click here to read Out of Bent and Sand, a book produced to mark the club’s centenary in 2009.