Maguire 75, Meadow 76 in ANA; Cole sticks with Greene in Azalea, Zhang pays no attention

ANA Inspiration —  Amateur Leona Maguire shot a three over 75 and Stephanie Meadow a 76 in the opening round of the ANA Inspiration — the first LPGA major of the year — at Rancho Mirage n California.

As Japan's Ai Miyazato and Spain's Azahara Munoz shot five under 67s to lead by one stroke from Catriona Matthew, Japan's Shiho Oyama and South Africa's Lee Ann Pace (68s), the two Irish contenders have work to do to make the cut in  88th and tied 96th position respectively.

Maguire got off to a great par-birdie start from the 10th but bogeyed the 12th and 13th to turn on one over.

One of seven amateurs in the field, two dropped shots on her back nine meant she finished the day on three over while Irish American Hannah O’Sullivan  shot a steady 72, and English player Bronte Law  posted a 73.

A similar story for Meadow who had six bogeys and two birdies in a 76.

It wasn’t all doom and gloom for the Jordanstown native as she is focusing on the positives and ready for a better second round:

Tee 1: 07:44 (PDT) – 15:44 (GMT)

  • Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell/Duke)
  • Danielle Kang (Oak Park, CA)

Tee 10: 14:01(PDT) - 22:01 (GMT)

  • Stephanie Meadow (Jordanstown)
  • Tiffany Joh ( San Diego, CA)

Hammer keeps pace with Greene

Azalea Invitational - Young tyro Cole Hammer was not totally overawed but still found himself going shot for shot with Irish veteran John Greene in the Azalea Invitational in Charleston.

The 16 year old former US Open participant, shot a two over par 73 to end the day tied 41st with the former South of Ireland champion and Carlow hero.

The other member of the threeball, China's Andy Zhang, went about his business oblivious to the fuss, blasting a four under 67.


Zhang, the youngest ever US Open participant at age 14 in 12, is tied for third at the Country Club of Charleston, one stroke behind Patrick Christovich and William Buhl, who shot 66s.